You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-30 16:54:34

andrealoi
Member
Registered: 2012-12-30
Posts: 7

ath9k_htc: can't put interface up

Hello!

First of all: I'm not English, so please be lenient for the terrifying grammar mistakes i'm probably going to write! tongue

I'm experiencing a strange behavior while using my Netgear WNA1100 (Atheros AR9271). I've installed the modules from compat-wireless (release 3.6.8-1-snp) and firmware from the package "linux-firmware".

The modules are correctly loaded, as i don't see any error in dmesg:

usb 1-7: new high-speed USB device number 7 using ehci_hcd
usb 1-7: ath9k_htc: Firmware htc_9271.fw requested
usbcore: registered new interface driver ath9k_htc
usb 1-7: ath9k_htc: Transferred FW: htc_9271.fw, size: 51272
ath9k_htc 1-7:1.0: ath9k_htc: HTC initialized with 33 credits
ath9k_htc 1-7:1.0: ath9k_htc: FW Version: 1.3
ath: EEPROM regdomain: 0x60
ath: EEPROM indicates we should expect a direct regpair map
ath: Country alpha2 being used: 00
ath: Regpair used: 0x60
ieee80211 phy1: Atheros AR9271 Rev:1
Registered led device: ath9k_htc-phy1

But if I try to put the interface up (using "ifconfig wlan1 up") the console simply freezes! If I login from another console i still can use any other comand but net related ones (like iwconfig, ifconfig, rfkill etc.) will freeze console again.
Killing the processes from root using SIGKILL don't work, too.
All I can do is to disconnect the wifi dongle, that unfreeze the consoles and produce this dmesg message:

usb 1-7: USB disconnect, device number 4
ath: phy1: Chip reset failed
ath: phy1: Unable to reset channel (2412 Mhz) reset status -22
ath: phy1: Unable to set channel
ath: phy1: RX failed to go idle in 10 ms RXSM=0xeaffffff
IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan1: link is not ready
ath: phy1: Failed to wakeup in 500us
ath: phy1: RX failed to go idle in 10 ms RXSM=0x7cfdd33b
ath: phy1: Failed to wakeup in 500us
ath: phy1: RX failed to go idle in 10 ms RXSM=0xfc59c93b
ath: phy1: Failed to wakeup in 500us
ath: phy1: RX failed to go idle in 10 ms RXSM=0x7cfdd33b
ath: phy1: Failed to wakeup in 500us
ath: phy1: RX failed to go idle in 10 ms RXSM=0xe00431
ath: phy1: Failed to wakeup in 500us
ath: phy1: RX failed to go idle in 10 ms RXSM=0x0
usb 1-7: ath9k_htc: USB layer deinitialized

What should I do?
Thank you in advance! smile

Offline

#2 2013-01-02 18:17:36

andrealoi
Member
Registered: 2012-12-30
Posts: 7

Re: ath9k_htc: can't put interface up

can anyone help me, please? sad

Offline

#3 2013-01-02 18:53:51

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,431

Re: ath9k_htc: can't put interface up

Try the lts kernel. I'm not aware of any issues with the ath9k_htc driver, but still, trying a different kernel makes sense. Also, how are you connecting the device, directly to the machine or through an usb hub? Have you tried a different usb port?

Offline

#4 2013-01-02 19:02:53

andrealoi
Member
Registered: 2012-12-30
Posts: 7

Re: ath9k_htc: can't put interface up

Thank you Gusar for your help!
I'll try the LTS.
The device is connected directly to PC (netbook Samsung N150 Plus).

Offline

#5 2013-01-02 20:17:07

andrealoi
Member
Registered: 2012-12-30
Posts: 7

Re: ath9k_htc: can't put interface up

It's still not working, even with LTS kernel (using compat-wireless 3.6.8-1-snp). Same behavior as before.

Offline

#6 2013-01-02 20:26:03

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,431

Re: ath9k_htc: can't put interface up

Why compat-wireless? The point was to try an old version of the driver. By using compat-wireless you've changed absolutely nothing.

Offline

#7 2013-01-02 20:30:44

andrealoi
Member
Registered: 2012-12-30
Posts: 7

Re: ath9k_htc: can't put interface up

I know but i need to use aircrack-ng on this pc and with the built-in drivers airodump give me the "fixed channel: 1" error  (and not -1, like the old drivers)...

UPDATE: built-in drivers from LTS are working with aircrack...

UPDATE 2: built-in drivers from non-LTS kernel (3.6.10-1): airodump-ng says "CH 0" and don't change. If i tell airodump to use a fixed channel it shows this error "fixed channel mon0: 1"

Last edited by andrealoi (2013-01-02 21:05:41)

Offline

#8 2013-01-03 16:30:38

andrealoi
Member
Registered: 2012-12-30
Posts: 7

Re: ath9k_htc: can't put interface up

Right now i was using aircrack on LTS kernel with built-in drivers: "fixed channel mon0: -1" appeared. Just a minute later... Kernel Panic! I'm going crazy!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB