You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-01 00:05:57

Reznor
Member
From: BiH
Registered: 2012-06-23
Posts: 76

[SOLVED] Amnesia - segmentation fault

I am trying to get Amnesia work on my desktop.
Before I installed Arch Linux there was Ubuntu 12.10 (radeon driver), and Amnesia worked fine. Now I have issues. On Loading screen it just kicks me to desktop. If I run from terminal it posts me output Segmentation fault (core dump).
I was planning to install fglrx, but accidentaly Ati dropped support for HD3000, so I have to stick with open source driver. Also tried reinstalling, libraries seems ok. What should cause this problem?
PC:
BIOSTAR AMD760G M2+
AMD ATHLON X2 240
2GB RAM
HDD 120 GB SATA , IDE 80 GB, IDE 20 GB
17" SM710V
ATI RADEON HD3000 integrated

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Reznor (2013-01-01 10:23:05)


rm -rf /
github

Offline

#2 2013-01-01 00:11:27

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,696
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Amnesia - segmentation fault

There are two amnesia aur packages.  Which one are you using?


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#3 2013-01-01 00:24:22

Reznor
Member
From: BiH
Registered: 2012-06-23
Posts: 76

Re: [SOLVED] Amnesia - segmentation fault

none. I just sh amnesia*.sh
same way I did on ubuntu, but on arch doesn't work.


rm -rf /
github

Offline

#4 2013-01-01 00:35:33

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,696
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Amnesia - segmentation fault

Ah ... how did you install it then?


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#5 2013-01-01 00:36:36

Reznor
Member
From: BiH
Registered: 2012-06-23
Posts: 76

Re: [SOLVED] Amnesia - segmentation fault

Downloaded .sh provided by Humble Bundle Indie. It installs fine. Runs fine. Gets to Loading screen then exits to desktop every time.

Last edited by Reznor (2013-01-01 00:37:16)


rm -rf /
github

Offline

#6 2013-01-01 00:59:03

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,696
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Amnesia - segmentation fault

And ...

To be able to help with the problem we'd need to be able to replicate it.  I'm willing to give it a shot, but I don't have this program/game/script/whatever.  I'm not going to go search for it either (though I did search the repos and AUR).  Give some relevant details of where you got it, how you set it up, and what led to the error and I'll try to help, but 20 questions isn't my favorite game.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#7 2013-01-01 10:22:25

Reznor
Member
From: BiH
Registered: 2012-06-23
Posts: 76

Re: [SOLVED] Amnesia - segmentation fault

When you buy Amnesia you get .sh link on mail.
That's where I get it.
I solved it in the end. Solution is a bit frustrating. It seems to be the ati driver problem.
I downgraded kernel with linux-lts package. Then I recompiled proprietary ati driver, and now it compiled fine.
Last thing, I downloaded from arm.konnichi.com xorg-server 1.12 and downgraded current packages, because 1.13 doesn't work with proprietary driver. Now it runs fine.


rm -rf /
github

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB