You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-01 06:00:43

palintropos
Member
Registered: 2012-02-09
Posts: 9

Add suspend to LXDM Shutdown/Reboot menu

Subject pretty much says it all. Anybody know how this might be accomplished? There's no mention of it on the wiki and no options in lxdm.conf that I'm aware of, and there's no lxdm man page. Is this just an upstream feature request?

Offline

#2 2013-01-01 06:04:13

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Add suspend to LXDM Shutdown/Reboot menu

Please search before posting.  This includes the forums.

Edit: Nevermind, I saw the question as LXDE not LXDM.  For this I have no idea.

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2013-01-01 06:04:53)

Offline

#3 2013-01-01 13:03:20

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,034
Website

Re: Add suspend to LXDM Shutdown/Reboot menu

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/LXDM#Sessionlist

Just add a "suspend.desktop" to that folder with an exec line to run your preferred suspend command.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#4 2013-01-02 01:19:04

palintropos
Member
Registered: 2012-02-09
Posts: 9

Re: Add suspend to LXDM Shutdown/Reboot menu

While I might be able to get something like that working, I'd prefer a more native solution instead of a kludge. Other people among my family and friends use my computer who are non-Linux people, and I'd like to make it user-friendly for them. As is, that solution requires picking Suspend out of a menu that is otherwise full of desktops to log into, then entering your password to make the computer go to sleep. There is a built-in menu right next to the session list housing the "Shutdown" and "Reboot" options. Ideally, this is where the Suspend option should reside as well.

[Edit]
I might add that I'm perfectly willing to look into adding this myself if the source code isn't over my head, and/or making it an upstream feature request. I just don't want to re-invent the wheel if someone more knowledgeable about LXDM knows a way to do this already.

Last edited by palintropos (2013-01-02 01:21:45)

Offline

#5 2013-01-02 01:49:06

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,034
Website

Re: Add suspend to LXDM Shutdown/Reboot menu

I don't use lxdm, so I don't know if there is an option.  But using the suspend.desktop file, you could have it set to suspend without a password - they would still need to pick it from the menu though.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB