You are not logged in.

#176 2013-10-13 03:23:24

zoqaeski
Member
From: /earth/australia/.
Registered: 2009-09-30
Posts: 124

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

There’s another little thing I’ve noticed: if you edit a PKGBUILD, and the build fails, running Aura again restores the original (remote) PKGBUILD which you have to edit again. Could Aura cache the modified PKGBUILD and do some sort of diff to ask whether the remote or local PKGBUILD should be used? A lot of the -git PKGBUILDs haven’t been updated for pacman 4.1 and the new VCS features.
Another feature request would be to build only AUR dependencies of a given package so that you can tinker with it separately.

Offline

#177 2013-10-26 18:28:06

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 144
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

@Procedural: You could use the --hotedit option to edit the PKGBUILD and change the dependencies manually if you wish.


Author of Aura

Offline

#178 2013-10-26 20:11:29

Procedural
Member
Registered: 2013-09-27
Posts: 17
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

fosskers wrote:

@Procedural: You could use the --hotedit option to edit the PKGBUILD and change the dependencies manually if you wish.

I found that and used after writing that post smile Thanks anyway!

Offline

#179 2013-10-27 07:14:23

jtaylor991
Member
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 5

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

Hey guys, kinda new here...and kinda intimidated by the turing test for registration :S

Anyway, I'm an inch away from installing aura. I'm just missing 'haskell-json"
It's abandoned in the AUR and I can't figure out how to install it. It just says "Could not resolve all dependencies..at least 'mtl -any' is missing"
I installed "haskell-mtl-tf" to see if that'd work to no avail.
I googled around for "mtl", "haskell-json" relentlessly and found no answer. I searched through this forum page by page for "json" but nothing that came up was helpful/relevant to me.
Help?
Any and all time is appreciated. Thanks!

Offline

#180 2013-10-27 07:15:56

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

@jtaylor991

You can also install aura-bin which is the prebuild binary.

Offline

#181 2013-11-11 00:29:08

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 144
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

Hi jtaylor, check out the Aura wiki section on installation:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Aura#Installation


Author of Aura

Offline

#182 2013-11-18 01:40:32

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 144
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

Hey guys, here with a swath of bug fixes!

1.2.1.3
-------
- `-As` results now sort by vote. Use `--abc` to sort alphabetically.
- "[installed]" will now be shown in `-As` results if you have it.
- Fixed Bash parsing bug involving `\` in arrays
- Fixed broken `-C`
- Updated Italian translation
- Updated French translation


Author of Aura

Offline

#183 2013-11-18 19:27:49

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

@fosskers

Thanks! Is it possible to add any support for automatic VCS updating in future releases?

Offline

#184 2013-11-19 21:17:45

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 144
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

What do you mean?


Author of Aura

Offline

#185 2013-11-19 22:19:30

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

I am talking about VCS packages such as gcolor3.

aura -Akua does not tell me if there is a new version (i.e. a new commit in the repo) of a VCS package available. Is this a general incapability with package managers and VCS packages?

Last edited by orschiro (2013-11-19 22:20:00)

Offline

#186 2013-11-20 05:36:38

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 144
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

You could use `--devel` with that to force all vcs'd packages to upgrade, actually.


Author of Aura

Offline

#187 2013-11-20 06:55:58

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

@fosskers

Thanks! This is actually sufficient, given the small amount of VCS package I have installed. However, I can imagine that this is quite tedious if you have to reinstall a bunch of VCS packages.

Offline

#188 2013-11-20 07:12:29

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,534
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

orschiro wrote:

I am talking about VCS packages such as gcolor3.

aura -Akua does not tell me if there is a new version (i.e. a new commit in the repo) of a VCS package available. Is this a general incapability with package managers and VCS packages?

Yes, it is technically not possible to find the version of a VCS package (without cloning a repo).

See the following link:
https://github.com/falconindy/cower/iss … t-26519604

So every AUR helper behaves in the same way. Some force the reinstall of VCS packages like packer, Aura too. But then, sometimes you get the same version after a rebuild if upstream hasn't added any new commits for a while.

Offline

#189 2013-12-20 20:43:20

senorsmile
Member
Registered: 2010-12-12
Posts: 67

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

Thank you fosskers.  I just discovered aura and it's amazing!

I have one question/possible suggestion.  If installing a package that's already there with the --needed flag
    sudo aura --needed -A dropbox

aura will go through the entire build process then right before it apparently calls pacman -S it realizes that the same version is already installed, displays this and exits.  It would be nice if using -A with --needed to do the check before the build so you skip rebuilding packages you already have installed.  This is especially true when running systems remotely with Ansible!


Thanks again!

Offline

#190 2013-12-25 08:52:05

GSF1200S
Member
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 435

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

This aur helper has single handedly solved the only problem I have ever really had with Arch. I have no issue downgrading packages using Downgrade (in the aur) or cd'ing to the package cache, but when you have a dependency hell and have to force pacman to ignore dependencies and track them yourself, it can become a really big pain. -B is an incredibly useful tool for when upstream bugs bite, especially when its the kernel and you have video drivers and other packages necessary to downgrade. Thank you very much for this!

This is not even mentioning its quick and the aur functions themselves work great and make sense. No feature requests here- just a thanks!

Offline

#191 2013-12-25 21:44:27

GSF1200S
Member
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 435

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

GSF1200S wrote:

This aur helper has single handedly solved the only problem I have ever really had with Arch. I have no issue downgrading packages using Downgrade (in the aur) or cd'ing to the package cache, but when you have a dependency hell and have to force pacman to ignore dependencies and track them yourself, it can become a really big pain. -B is an incredibly useful tool for when upstream bugs bite, especially when its the kernel and you have video drivers and other packages necessary to downgrade. Thank you very much for this!

This is not even mentioning its quick and the aur functions themselves work great and make sense. No feature requests here- just a thanks!

I spoke too soon. Having an issue upgrading an AUR package. All others are up to date so im not sure if Aura would have any similar issues:

[poeticrpm@codething ~]$ sudo aura -Ayu
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
 multilib is up to date
aura >>= Fetching package information...
aura >>= Comparing package versions...
aura >>= AUR Packages to upgrade:
android-sdk : r22.3-1 => r22.3-2

aura >>= The following are not AUR packages:
android-sdk

aura >>= Determining dependencies...
aura >>= Continue? [Y/n] y
[poeticrpm@codething ~]$

I didnt have another AUR helper so I grabbed the ubiquitous Packer to try an upgrade, and it upgraded android-sdk fine. Everything else on Aura seems to be fine..

Offline

#192 2013-12-27 16:30:49

aexoxea
Member
Registered: 2012-11-17
Posts: 62

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

Since the past few days, I received an "AUR API" error when invoking aura for AUR update operations, which suggested that I "check my connection". My connection being fine (and AUR being up), I worked aroud the issue by downgrading core/curl from the latest 7.34.0-1 to 7.33.0-3, after coming across topic Curl 7.34.0-1 seems to break [haskell-core] [#174822] elsewhere in these forums (although the specific issue mentioned there isn't related, the timing of when it started matched up, so...).

The upstream report linked therein includes a patch that is being tested now (though not being familiar with cURL's change and release policies, I couldn't say when it would make it into a release). I note this (and the above) here should other aura users encounter it.

(Also, many thanks to @fosskers for this excellent product!)

Offline

#193 2013-12-27 20:42:29

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 144
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

@senorsmile: This should be possible.
@GSF1200S: You're welcome! And that's strange for `android-sdk`. The PKGBUILD looks fine so I don't know why it would be failing. Aura's Bash parser is being updated within the next few weeks, so the problem will probably fix itself with that.
@aexoxea: This should fix itself with an updated `haskell-curl` package.


Author of Aura

Offline

#194 2013-12-29 01:36:21

GSF1200S
Member
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 435

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

fosskers wrote:

@senorsmile: This should be possible.
@GSF1200S: You're welcome! And that's strange for `android-sdk`. The PKGBUILD looks fine so I don't know why it would be failing. Aura's Bash parser is being updated within the next few weeks, so the problem will probably fix itself with that.
@aexoxea: This should fix itself with an updated `haskell-curl` package.

It is strange. android-sdk was the only out of date package from the AUR so I assumed it was something broken in Aura recently or a bug on my system. After you commented I downloaded another package and modified the pkgbuild to download an older version, then upgraded with Aura- works fine... android-sdk still gives the above error. For now ill just makepkg android-sdk. I doubt ill have any further issues. Thanks again for Aura!

Offline

#195 2013-12-29 04:50:46

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 144
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

No problem! The real advantages of AUR package managers are dependency management and upgrades, but there's nothing wrong with using makepkg on its own from time to time.


Author of Aura

Offline

#196 2013-12-29 11:21:24

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 4,640

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

I thought the real advantage was searching for and dowloading packages from the command line without visiting aur.archlinux.org in lynx :-D

Online

#197 2013-12-29 19:54:56

GSF1200S
Member
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 435

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

fosskers, I do have a question for you. I am 6 hours behind UTC time, as shown by the following:

timedatectl status
      Local time: Sun 2013-12-29 13:43:20 CST
  Universal time: Sun 2013-12-29 19:43:20 UTC
        RTC time: Sun 2013-12-29 19:43:21
        Timezone: America/Chicago (CST, -0600)
     NTP enabled: n/a
NTP synchronized: no
 RTC in local TZ: no
      DST active: no
 Last DST change: DST ended at
                  Sun 2013-11-03 01:59:59 CDT
                  Sun 2013-11-03 01:00:00 CST
 Next DST change: DST begins (the clock jumps one hour forward) at
                  Sun 2014-03-09 01:59:59 CST
                  Sun 2014-03-09 03:00:00 CDT

This is correct from a time set perspective, as the UTC is correct (matches a google search on UTC time), and my local time reflects the 6 hours behind UTC as it should be. However, Aura always uses UTC for the save states. I dont see a config file listed nor any mention of time in the manpage, so am I just to set up my time where UTC and local time are the same? I might be missing something here as I had a hassle getting Arch, Fedora, and Windows 7 to play nicely together in terms of time (windows has the registry key added to use UTC and essentially believes UTC is local). Any ideas on this?

Offline

#198 2013-12-30 22:46:47

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 144
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

After delving into the Aura code and checking some libraries, I believe I can change it to use your local time and not UTC. I take it you'd prefer that?


Author of Aura

Offline

#199 2013-12-31 00:34:31

GSF1200S
Member
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 435

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

fosskers wrote:

After delving into the Aura code and checking some libraries, I believe I can change it to use your local time and not UTC. I take it you'd prefer that?

Ummm.. its not just me using it so Id want others take on it first. I didnt want you to really dig into the code to change anything- I was just seeing if I had missed anything.

Maybe a flag for -B that allows time to be set by localtime? A bash alias or running aura via a script could easily add that flag. If noone else really is bothered by it, Id say forget it. Its not like I cant figure out when the last time a package state was saved you know? I was just being overly anal I guess.

Thanks a lot for the fast response! Working great.

Offline

#200 2014-01-01 00:50:32

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 144
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.7

I made that sound complicated, didn't I? It would really only be one function change, and said function is built into the standard Haskell libraries. No problem. I think doing it by localtime makes more sense anyway.


Author of Aura

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB