You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-07 14:40:10

Grant
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-12-15
Posts: 216

[SOLVED] Why I should to install gtk3 in kde?

Hello,

Now I was updating my system with the classic pacman command. In the updates, there is this package: gtk3-3.6.4-1 . If I am not wrong, KDE uses Qt and not GTK+ like Gnome.
And so why I have to install them?
Or maybe there are some application that require them? I use Chromium...

Grant.

Last edited by Grant (2013-01-09 15:15:06)


I am not a native speaker. If you see a mistake, please report it to me via private message. Thank you.

Offline

#2 2013-01-07 15:07:49

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: [SOLVED] Why I should to install gtk3 in kde?

One of the updated packages now depends on gtk3. Chromium depends gtk2.

Offline

#3 2013-01-07 15:12:55

Grant
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-12-15
Posts: 216

Re: [SOLVED] Why I should to install gtk3 in kde?

Is possible to know who is it?


I am not a native speaker. If you see a mistake, please report it to me via private message. Thank you.

Offline

#4 2013-01-07 15:14:10

Trilby
Forum Fellow
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 17,558
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Why I should to install gtk3 in kde?

The simplest way would be to go ahead with the upgrade, then `pacman -Qi gtk3` to see the "Required By: " list, then you can decided if you want to replace/remove the package that requires it.

Or, if the list of packages being upgraded is small, you can run the following on each of those you explicitly installed "pacman -Si <package>" and look at the "Depends On: " list.

Last edited by Trilby (2013-01-07 15:17:04)


Resist the GNU world order.

Offline

#5 2013-01-07 15:29:57

Grant
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-12-15
Posts: 216

Re: [SOLVED] Why I should to install gtk3 in kde?

I believe gconf is useless in kde, right?


I am not a native speaker. If you see a mistake, please report it to me via private message. Thank you.

Offline

#6 2013-01-07 15:32:07

Trilby
Forum Fellow
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 17,558
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Why I should to install gtk3 in kde?

Can't you extrapolate from the above recommended commands to know which command to use to answer your own question?


Resist the GNU world order.

Offline

#7 2013-01-07 15:32:21

shulamy
Member
From: israel
Registered: 2010-09-11
Posts: 381

Re: [SOLVED] Why I should to install gtk3 in kde?

if you try to remove it, you get the list of dependent packages.

ezik

Offline

#8 2013-01-07 15:44:31

Grant
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-12-15
Posts: 216

Re: [SOLVED] Why I should to install gtk3 in kde?

Is weird that is required from gstreamer. I should to install gtk3 only for it, because I can't remove it.


I am not a native speaker. If you see a mistake, please report it to me via private message. Thank you.

Offline

#9 2013-01-07 15:48:40

Trilby
Forum Fellow
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 17,558
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Why I should to install gtk3 in kde?

gconf is not needed by gstreamer.


Resist the GNU world order.

Offline

#10 2013-01-07 15:57:39

Grant
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-12-15
Posts: 216

Re: [SOLVED] Why I should to install gtk3 in kde?

Sorry, gstreamer isn't included in gstreamer0.10-good-plugins?


I am not a native speaker. If you see a mistake, please report it to me via private message. Thank you.

Offline

#11 2013-01-07 17:06:36

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: [SOLVED] Why I should to install gtk3 in kde?

You can run "pactree -r gtk3" to see exactly what package(s) want/need gtk3.

Last edited by anonymous_user (2013-01-07 17:07:08)

Offline

#12 2013-01-07 17:07:59

Loose_Control
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-01-11
Posts: 136

Re: [SOLVED] Why I should to install gtk3 in kde?

the answer to your problem https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/gstr … gins-slim/
or just rebuild it yourself i do it that way since i don't need jack and gtk...

gstreamer-good-plugins depends on gconf which pulls gtk3...

Last edited by Loose_Control (2013-01-07 17:09:29)

Offline

#13 2013-01-07 17:45:59

bohoomil
Member
Registered: 2010-09-04
Posts: 2,376
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Why I should to install gtk3 in kde?

...or simply rebuild the official gstreamer0.10-good package available via ABS with the following lines added in the build() section:

--disable-gconftool \
--disable-gconf \
--disable-soup \

:: Registered Linux User No. 223384

:: github
:: infinality-bundle+fonts: good looking fonts made easy

Offline

#14 2013-01-07 17:50:25

Trilby
Forum Fellow
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 17,558
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Why I should to install gtk3 in kde?

Grant wrote:

Sorry, gstreamer isn't included in gstreamer0.10-good-plugins?

I suspect gstreamer is required by gstreamer0.10-good-plugins, but the latter is certainly not required by the former - hence the confusion.  One can very easily install gstreamer without installing the plugins, and in such a case it would not require gconf or gtk3.

Do you need the -good-plugins pacakge?


Resist the GNU world order.

Offline

#15 2013-01-09 15:14:47

Grant
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-12-15
Posts: 216

Re: [SOLVED] Why I should to install gtk3 in kde?

I removed the good-plugins package, with gtk3 and gconf with success.
Thanks!


I am not a native speaker. If you see a mistake, please report it to me via private message. Thank you.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB