You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-15 19:41:26

totsilence
Member
Registered: 2010-02-01
Posts: 19

/etc/pam.d/kde is overwritten without .pavsave / .pacnew

This happens whenever I upgrade kdebase-workspace. Shouldn't there be a backup file with my modified version created by pacman upon upgrade?

Cheers
Bastian

Offline

#2 2013-01-15 20:10:17

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,896

Re: /etc/pam.d/kde is overwritten without .pavsave / .pacnew

pacsave/pacnew files are only for configuration files that the maintainer can predict may be edited by the user. You can request that they add the file to the backup array in the PKGBUILD, or just remember to replace the file after upgrading.

Last edited by Scimmia (2013-01-15 20:12:53)

Offline

#3 2013-01-15 21:28:07

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: /etc/pam.d/kde is overwritten without .pavsave / .pacnew

You could add the file to NoUpgrade in pacman.conf.

Offline

#4 2013-01-16 10:00:59

totsilence
Member
Registered: 2010-02-01
Posts: 19

Re: /etc/pam.d/kde is overwritten without .pavsave / .pacnew

That is a good idea, thank you! Also thanks for the pointer to the backup array, didn't know how the .pacnew / .pacsave thing worked internally.

My modifications to that file are for pam_ssh single sign-on loading of my ssh-key, btw. So it's not critical but annoying having to re-edit that file again and again - especially since kdebase-workspace is updated quite frequently.

Offline

#5 2013-01-16 10:16:44

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: /etc/pam.d/kde is overwritten without .pavsave / .pacnew

Is that a kde-specific change? Or could it be done elsewhere under /etc/pam.d/ , i.e. in a file that gets pacnew'd?

Offline

#6 2013-01-16 21:16:38

totsilence
Member
Registered: 2010-02-01
Posts: 19

Re: /etc/pam.d/kde is overwritten without .pavsave / .pacnew

It could be done elsewhere I guess, but I don't want this to happen when i login to a normal console. I consider this a higher-level thing which I want only to happen if I login into a desktop environment...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB