You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-20 02:11:23

creese
Member
Registered: 2012-07-21
Posts: 26

[SOLVED] Hibernation: Resume Can't Find Swap

I'm trying to get hibernation going on my Macbook 5,1.  I'm using rEFInd as my bootloader (package: refind-efi). I don't have Grub.

After trying to hibernate, I get the following during start:

ERROR: resume has no device specified for hibernation

I added the following to /boot/efi/EFI/arch/refind_linux.conf:

"Resume"    "resume=/dev/disk/by-uuid/<uuid-for-swap>"

It doesn't see it.

Last edited by creese (2013-01-20 20:55:09)

Offline

#2 2013-01-20 03:11:15

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [SOLVED] Hibernation: Resume Can't Find Swap

Is that all you did?  That is not all that it takes to enable hibernation.

Offline

#3 2013-01-20 03:36:00

creese
Member
Registered: 2012-07-21
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] Hibernation: Resume Can't Find Swap

No, it's where I got stuck.

I also added "resume" to mkinitcpio and recreated the initial ramdisk environment. Besides telling how to find the swap, what else is there to do?

Offline

#4 2013-01-20 14:59:20

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: [SOLVED] Hibernation: Resume Can't Find Swap

You didn't add that literal line to refind's config, did you?


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#5 2013-01-20 15:58:55

creese
Member
Registered: 2012-07-21
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] Hibernation: Resume Can't Find Swap

I used the actual UUID.

Offline

#6 2013-01-20 19:34:45

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: [SOLVED] Hibernation: Resume Can't Find Swap

You shouldn't be adding it as a separate line at all. Just add the resume parameter to the regular list of stuff passed to the kernel.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#7 2013-01-20 20:54:18

creese
Member
Registered: 2012-07-21
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] Hibernation: Resume Can't Find Swap

I put

resume=/dev/sda6

on the same line as the rest of the parms and now it works!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB