You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-23 11:04:43

jerik
Member
Registered: 2009-03-02
Posts: 197

Booting Windows from Grub gives blank screen

Hi! I've installed Arch side by side my Win7.
The grub-mkconfig (with os-probe installed) did not automatically add my Win7, so I added to the file:

/boot/grub/custom.cfg

this code:

# (2) Windows 7
menuentry "Windows 7" {
    set root=(hd0,6)
    chainloader (hd0,6)+1
}
$ fdisk -l
Disk /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes, 1953525168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x219a2bdd

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *          63    58589054    29294496   83  Linux
/dev/sda2       597682260  1885227749   643772745    5  Extended
/dev/sda3        58589055    97659134    19535040   83  Linux
/dev/sda4        97659135   121097969    11719417+  83  Linux
/dev/sda5       597682323  1574241479   488279578+  86  NTFS volume set
/dev/sda6      1574241543  1885227749   155493103+   7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

Partition table entries are not in disk order

Disk /dev/sdc: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes, 1953525168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x846908d9

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdc1              63  1953520064   976760001    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

When I do a boot to Win7 now, I get a blank black screen with the _ blinking in the top left corner.

Help pretty please?

EDIT: the Wiki talks about chainloader. I am not sure exactly what that is and if that can be the problem here?

Last edited by jerik (2013-01-23 11:07:09)

Offline

#2 2013-01-23 12:05:28

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,052
Website

Re: Booting Windows from Grub gives blank screen

Your drive number is wrong - there is no hd0,6 in your fdisk output.  Though you haven't said which your windows boot partition is, I'm guessing it is hd0,5.

Also, the examples in the wiki don't include the drive in the chainloader line, just "chainloader +1", though I have never used this.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#3 2013-01-27 16:03:07

jerik
Member
Registered: 2009-03-02
Posts: 197

Re: Booting Windows from Grub gives blank screen

Hello! Sorry for replying in late, been to the mountains for some days smile
My Windows partition is sda6

Trying to change it to hd0,5 gives error, if I recall rightly: invalid signature

Offline

#4 2013-01-27 20:52:01

jerik
Member
Registered: 2009-03-02
Posts: 197

Re: Booting Windows from Grub gives blank screen

could it be something wrong with my MBR you think? Could trying to fix it with the Windows CD possible remove my Grub?
I am still not understaning the concept of chainloading...

Last edited by jerik (2013-01-27 20:52:36)

Offline

#5 2013-01-27 22:51:41

kevdog
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 46

Re: Booting Windows from Grub gives blank screen

Just a quick note from what I can remember off the top of my head -- if your windows partition is really sd5, then I think you do have to employ possibly the drivemap command (which I would probably read up on it).  Windows expects to be on the very first partition. You have to trick windows into thinking its the very first partition.

Offline

#6 2013-01-29 18:24:32

jerik
Member
Registered: 2009-03-02
Posts: 197

Re: Booting Windows from Grub gives blank screen

I believe that is for multiple physical harddrives?

Offline

#7 2013-01-29 22:03:07

jerik
Member
Registered: 2009-03-02
Posts: 197

Re: Booting Windows from Grub gives blank screen

I have a socalled UEFI motherboard... could that be why?

Offline

#8 2013-01-29 22:31:52

DarkCerberus
Member
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2011-12-31
Posts: 247

Re: Booting Windows from Grub gives blank screen

UEFI may not be the cause - what might be causing the problem is the fact that you have installed Arch Linux and windows and the same Harddrive you should have really placed Linux on a different Harddrive so it doesn't conflict with the first one, and os-prober if I'm right won't be able to read it since it's not designed to find it on the same Harddrive.

Offline

#9 2013-01-29 23:51:44

piratebill
Member
From: Sol System
Registered: 2011-10-20
Posts: 79

Re: Booting Windows from Grub gives blank screen

DarkCerberus wrote:

UEFI may not be the cause - what might be causing the problem is the fact that you have installed Arch Linux and windows and the same Harddrive you should have really placed Linux on a different Harddrive so it doesn't conflict with the first one, and os-prober if I'm right won't be able to read it since it's not designed to find it on the same Harddrive.


I've been doing this for years and never had a single issue.  Do you have any examples of how there could be a conflict or how OS-prober won't function properly?

Offline

#10 2013-01-30 20:47:37

jerik
Member
Registered: 2009-03-02
Posts: 197

Re: Booting Windows from Grub gives blank screen

I just ran Fuduntu before I installed Arch, and it worked perfectly.
Do you guys think it could be an idea to try to reinstall Windows mbr with the Win7 DVD? Would that overwrite Grub? And could I just in that case reinstall Grub after doing the fix?

Offline

#11 2013-01-30 23:11:46

piratebill
Member
From: Sol System
Registered: 2011-10-20
Posts: 79

Re: Booting Windows from Grub gives blank screen

jerik wrote:

Would that overwrite Grub? And could I just in that case reinstall Grub after doing the fix?


Yes it would overwrite it, and yes you could just reinstall grub later.  Don't know how helpful doing this would be though...

Offline

#12 2013-01-31 17:22:38

jerik
Member
Registered: 2009-03-02
Posts: 197

Re: Booting Windows from Grub gives blank screen

Do you at least think the first step, reinstalling Windows MBR would allow me to boot into Windows?

Offline

#13 2013-01-31 18:28:46

piratebill
Member
From: Sol System
Registered: 2011-10-20
Posts: 79

Re: Booting Windows from Grub gives blank screen

jerik wrote:

Do you at least think the first step, reinstalling Windows MBR would allow me to boot into Windows?

Worth a try I suppose

Offline

#14 2013-01-31 21:07:47

jerik
Member
Registered: 2009-03-02
Posts: 197

Re: Booting Windows from Grub gives blank screen

I will try then smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB