You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-25 18:10:47

bronco21016
Member
From: Da Zoo, MI
Registered: 2011-09-23
Posts: 41

[SOLVED]More RealTek 8111

I run an Arch setup as a server of sorts, really more of a NAS, in my house to host all of our media files and provide as a backup for the different devices throughout the house. I don't remember the day exactly but last week I went to try to setup WOL. It had been on the to-do list for awhile so I figured why not. I read through the wiki about it and started going about business.

At some point I ran a system upgrade. My problem was I was still using the old init scripts and I wanted to switch to systemd. I didn't realize all that was involved etc. and wound up just running a pacman -Syu. Ever since that update I have not been able to get my onboard NIC to work with my install.

I've read plenty of forum posts about this particular chipset and it seems kernel upgrades frequently cause issues. I've actually never had any problems with it up to this point but I tried several of the suggestions in the forums.

When I boot the live USB image the NIC is properly loaded and obtains an address through DHCP but even after rolling back my kernel to 3.6.9 and trying the r8168-all package in the AUR I cannot get my NIC to be recognized. Running lspci -v shows it in there and shows the driver module is loaded but it doens't appear in /dev/ and I can't get anything from it using 'ip'. It does still work though because I can easily get it with the live USB image.

I'm at my witts end and can't figure this out. Can someone please help? What should I post to help people help me?

Thanks!

Last edited by bronco21016 (2013-01-31 21:19:11)

Offline

#2 2013-01-25 22:57:04

mynis01
Member
Registered: 2011-04-29
Posts: 66

Re: [SOLVED]More RealTek 8111

Did you blacklist the r8169 module?

Offline

#3 2013-01-26 16:26:14

bronco21016
Member
From: Da Zoo, MI
Registered: 2011-09-23
Posts: 41

Re: [SOLVED]More RealTek 8111

I did. I noticed the live USB is running 3.6.8 but I couldn't find 3.6.8 in ARM. Does anyone maybe have it in their cache still and they would be willing to share so I can try it out? Before I did a clean reinstall I noticed I had 3.6.8, 3.6.9, and 3.6.11 in my cache. 3.7 was what broke it using the r8169 module yet I can't get anything to work now.

Offline

#4 2013-01-26 18:22:22

Leonid.I
Member
From: Aethyr
Registered: 2009-03-22
Posts: 947

Re: [SOLVED]More RealTek 8111

These days you almost never need r8168. Whats your NIC?

$ modinfo r8169| gr rtl_nic
firmware:       rtl_nic/rtl8168g-1.fw
firmware:       rtl_nic/rtl8106e-1.fw
firmware:       rtl_nic/rtl8411-1.fw
firmware:       rtl_nic/rtl8402-1.fw
firmware:       rtl_nic/rtl8168f-2.fw
firmware:       rtl_nic/rtl8168f-1.fw
firmware:       rtl_nic/rtl8105e-1.fw
firmware:       rtl_nic/rtl8168e-3.fw
firmware:       rtl_nic/rtl8168e-2.fw
firmware:       rtl_nic/rtl8168e-1.fw
firmware:       rtl_nic/rtl8168d-2.fw
firmware:       rtl_nic/rtl8168d-1.fw

Arch Linux is more than just GNU/Linux -- it's an adventure

Offline

#5 2013-01-26 19:57:52

bronco21016
Member
From: Da Zoo, MI
Registered: 2011-09-23
Posts: 41

Re: [SOLVED]More RealTek 8111

I got pulled into a 4 day trip for work so I can't get you the output of lspci right now but if I remember correctly its the RealTek 8168/8111b rev 06. It's an onboard NIC on an ASUS P5 series. Don't remember the exact model off the top of my head. If you stay tuned I can get you the output when I get home. Dmesg is also always indicating the driver is loaded.

I can't believe a fresh install didn't even work even after the install media recognizes it. It's installed on a USB drive but I can't see why that would make any difference.

Offline

#6 2013-01-27 05:22:08

mynis01
Member
Registered: 2011-04-29
Posts: 66

Re: [SOLVED]More RealTek 8111

I had that exact same NIC on a Gigabyte Z-68 motherboard that I eventually just ended up selling because I was sick of the hassle. Sometimes I had to just grab the driver from the realtek site and compile and install it myself to get it working. The problem is, half the time the realtek guys just don't keep the pace with Arch's kernel updates. I found I had better luck using the 8168-ck package than with the other AUR packages at the time, but that also required using the ck kernel. There's a well maintained r8168 package in the community repo now, which was updating just 6 days prior to this post. Did you try just using the stock kernel with that package?

Offline

#7 2013-01-27 19:21:06

bronco21016
Member
From: Da Zoo, MI
Registered: 2011-09-23
Posts: 41

Re: [SOLVED]More RealTek 8111

I did try using just stock kernel with the r8168-all package found in the AUR and had no luck. What dumbfounds me is that the live USB works without issue with no special configuration.

Offline

#8 2013-01-29 00:49:09

Leonid.I
Member
From: Aethyr
Registered: 2009-03-22
Posts: 947

Re: [SOLVED]More RealTek 8111

bronco21016 wrote:

I got pulled into a 4 day trip for work so I can't get you the output of lspci right now but if I remember correctly its the RealTek 8168/8111b rev 06. It's an onboard NIC on an ASUS P5 series. Don't remember the exact model off the top of my head. If you stay tuned I can get you the output when I get home. Dmesg is also always indicating the driver is loaded.

I can't believe a fresh install didn't even work even after the install media recognizes it. It's installed on a USB drive but I can't see why that would make any difference.

Hm... Your NIC should be supported by r8169. For my asus motherboard (M5A88-M):

04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)
	Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. P8P67 and other motherboards
	Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 44
	I/O ports at e800 [size=256]
	Memory at fdfff000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=4K]
	Memory at fdff8000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=16K]
	Capabilities: <access denied>
	Kernel driver in use: r8169

The last kernel which had an incomplete support for this controller was 3.4.9...


Arch Linux is more than just GNU/Linux -- it's an adventure

Offline

#9 2013-01-29 02:33:59

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [SOLVED]More RealTek 8111

I have this card in my Thinkpad, and I have to use the r8168 package still.  Mine is rev 7 though.  The last time I used the r8169 module was the day I got the laptop about six months ago.  It took the damn thing like two full hours to download the packages for base only.

Offline

#10 2013-01-29 13:22:54

ronmon
Member
Registered: 2011-04-15
Posts: 29

Re: [SOLVED]More RealTek 8111

I've been building my own from the official Realtek package, but it is a pain having to do it every time the kernel is updated. The community package looks to be way more convenient, so I think I'll give that a try. Can anyone who has been using that tell me whether I will have to re-install it on every kernel update? Even if that is the case it will be a lot easier than the way I have been doing it.

Thanks.

Offline

#11 2013-01-29 17:09:35

mynis01
Member
Registered: 2011-04-29
Posts: 66

Re: [SOLVED]More RealTek 8111

The community package is a binary module (being in the community repo and all...) so there should be no re-installation/re-compilation required.

Offline

#12 2013-01-29 18:21:08

ronmon
Member
Registered: 2011-04-15
Posts: 29

Re: [SOLVED]More RealTek 8111

Right, I see that it installs to extramodules-3.7-ARCH/. I suppose it will be good at least until a 3.8 kernel comes along.

Offline

#13 2013-01-30 20:06:43

bronco21016
Member
From: Da Zoo, MI
Registered: 2011-09-23
Posts: 41

Re: [SOLVED]More RealTek 8111

Finally got home so here's some info about my system...

lspci -v

... yields...

01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)
             Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. P8P67 and other motherboards
             Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ42
             I/O ports at e800 [size=256]
             Memory at fdfff000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=4K]
             Memory at fdff8000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=15K]
             Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
             Capabilities: [50] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
             Capabilities: [70] Express Endpoint, MSI 01
             Capabilities: [b0] MSI-X: Enable- Count=4 Masked-
             Capabilities: [d0] Vital Product Data
             Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
             Capabilities: [140] Virtual Channel
             Capabilities: [160] Device Serial Number 01-00-00-00-68-4c-e0-00
             Kernel driver in use: r8169

and...

dmesg | grep r816

gives

r8169 Gigabit Ethernet driver 2.3LK-NAPI loaded
r8169 0000:01:00.0: irq 42 for MSI/MSI-X
r8169 0000:01:00.0: eth0: RTL8168e/8111e at 0xf8b120000, 54:04:a6:ec:57:31, XID 0c200000 IRQ 42
r8169 0000:01:00.0: eth0: jumbo features [frames: 9200 bytes, tx checksumming: ko]

So based on this it would appear that the system is loading the driver and recognizing the NIC as eth0 right? So why does ip addr only give lo: and not eth0: as well? It's also not found in /dev/ at all.

I'm dumbfounded. This is on a clean install this is still happening.

Whew that took forever to type!

Offline

#14 2013-01-31 20:18:45

bronco21016
Member
From: Da Zoo, MI
Registered: 2011-09-23
Posts: 41

Re: [SOLVED]More RealTek 8111

Now that I'm home I started digging a little more into this and found that running..

dmesg | grep eth
systemd-udevd[153]: renamed network interface eth0 to enp1s0

I checked out /etc/udev/rules.d and there aren't any rules there so what in the world is going on here? Why does udev wanna rename it? Also, this name doesn't appear in /dev.

Offline

#15 2013-01-31 21:18:58

bronco21016
Member
From: Da Zoo, MI
Registered: 2011-09-23
Posts: 41

Re: [SOLVED]More RealTek 8111

False alarm everyone. It turns out I hadn't correctly configured my network setup. Once I discovered the information from the post above I started searching down the correct paths and figured it all out. I guess I didn't follow the wiki close enough once I couldn't get anything to recognize eth0 since it was being renamed to enp1s0 all along. That led me down the driver path which isn't where I needed to be looking.

Network is configured per the wiki and up and running now. Thanks for the replies everyone. Marked SOLVED.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB