You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-26 19:34:26

Xlaits
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 28

Pacman -Syyu timeouts... [Solved]

I can ping out to my mirrors, but Pacman isn't following his pellets properly... (Ha, see what I did there?)

Anyway, I keep watching HTTP and FTP alike time-out...
Wired Connection on i386 system...

Any suggestions?

Last edited by Xlaits (2013-01-28 00:53:13)

Offline

#2 2013-01-26 20:03:25

flipper T
Member
Registered: 2012-09-14
Posts: 419

Re: Pacman -Syyu timeouts... [Solved]

Yeah, lots... (see what I did there?)

sudo pacman -Syu

If no luck, try a different mirror.

Last edited by flipper T (2013-01-26 20:04:44)


If I'm curt with you it's because time is a factor. I think fast, I talk fast and I need you guys to act fast if you wanna get out of this. So, pretty please... with sugar on top. Clean the [censored] car. -The Wolf

Offline

#3 2013-01-26 20:49:05

Xlaits
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 28

Re: Pacman -Syyu timeouts... [Solved]

flipper T wrote:

Yeah, lots... (see what I did there?)

sudo pacman -Syu

If no luck, try a different mirror.

I'm doing it from root, so I don't need to use sudo, and I'm using several mirrors, not to mention I was originally getting this error with an unmodified mirror list.

Last edited by Xlaits (2013-01-26 20:57:10)

Offline

#4 2013-01-27 08:17:05

Xlaits
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 28

Re: Pacman -Syyu timeouts... [Solved]

I HATE having to bump, but I'm really in a bind here...

Offline

#5 2013-01-27 08:22:02

flipper T
Member
Registered: 2012-09-14
Posts: 419

Re: Pacman -Syyu timeouts... [Solved]

Are you using "pure" arch, or a derivative; cinnarch, manjaro etc ?

Have you read the arch wiki for pacman ?


If I'm curt with you it's because time is a factor. I think fast, I talk fast and I need you guys to act fast if you wanna get out of this. So, pretty please... with sugar on top. Clean the [censored] car. -The Wolf

Offline

#6 2013-01-27 08:22:08

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 20,060
Website

Re: Pacman -Syyu timeouts... [Solved]

If you have tried changing mirrors, then pacman has a debug option to print more helpful error messages...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#7 2013-01-27 08:51:00

Xlaits
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 28

Re: Pacman -Syyu timeouts... [Solved]

flipper T wrote:

Are you using "pure" arch, or a derivative; cinnarch, manjaro etc ?

Have you read the arch wiki for pacman ?

I'm using Pure. I'll also put some time into the wiki right now...

jasonwryan wrote:

If you have tried changing mirrors, then pacman has a debug option to print more helpful error messages...

And said command would be...? [edit]

Running Pacman -Syuv --debug now...

Last edited by Xlaits (2013-01-27 08:58:23)

Offline

#8 2013-01-27 09:01:00

Xlaits
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 28

Re: Pacman -Syyu timeouts... [Solved]

So, now I'm getting this from "pacman -Syuv --debug":

curl returned error 28 on transfer.

Offline

#9 2013-01-27 09:20:14

Xlaits
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 28

Re: Pacman -Syyu timeouts... [Solved]

Thank you to those of you who are helping me. I'm going offline to sleep, and I'll keep working on it when I wake up. See you!

Offline

#10 2013-01-27 22:02:23

Xlaits
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 28

Re: Pacman -Syyu timeouts... [Solved]

I am back, and once I login to Arch, I'll be ready to troubleshoot. Still having all the same problems as before, as far as I currently know.

Offline

#11 2013-01-27 22:07:28

Xlaits
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 28

Re: Pacman -Syyu timeouts... [Solved]

Ok, now it seems that Arch won't even connect to the internet...

Oh, right... I forgot... Arch doesn't seem to like me at all... I need to manually re-activate the dhcpcd service for my adapter... something I set for Arch to do automagically...

Last edited by Xlaits (2013-01-27 22:09:44)

Offline

#12 2013-01-27 22:15:37

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 20,060
Website

Re: Pacman -Syyu timeouts... [Solved]

Two other things to try: switch to wget in pacman.conf, see if that makes a difference. Disable IPv6.

Also, please use the edit button, rather than continually bumping the thread:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … te#Bumping


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#13 2013-01-27 23:13:49

Xlaits
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 28

Re: Pacman -Syyu timeouts... [Solved]

I'm in the IRC right now. sudokode is helping me very greatly...

If this doesn't work, I'll try wget, and disabling IPv6...

Offline

#14 2013-01-27 23:38:55

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: Pacman -Syyu timeouts... [Solved]

If sudokode does solve it for you, please post back here with the solution and mark the thread solved.


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

#15 2013-01-28 00:54:02

Xlaits
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 28

Re: Pacman -Syyu timeouts... [Solved]

So, the issue was that pacman was broken. Period. Uncommented the curl section in pacman.conf, and everything is working fine. Now if I could only get xorg working...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB