You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-27 12:09:10

Steffo
Member
Registered: 2012-10-27
Posts: 34

[SOLVED] Update fails ("/usr/lib64 exists in filesystem")

Hi,
today I wanted to update my arch linux. I selected all packages:

bash-4.2.042-2  filesystem-2013.01-1  gcc-4.7.2-4  gcc-libs-4.7.2-4  glibc-2.17-2  linux-api-headers-3.7.4-1  mkinitcpio-0.12.0-3 sudo-1.8.6.p5-1  transmission-gtk-2.76-2

But then I've got following error (translated from German to English)

Error: Could not complete procedure (conflicts in files)
filesystem: /usr/lib64 exists in filesystem

Any idea?

Best regards
Steffo

Last edited by Steffo (2013-01-27 12:42:45)

Offline

#2 2013-01-27 12:15:46

Ghcost
Member
Registered: 2013-01-13
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] Update fails ("/usr/lib64 exists in filesystem")

I have a same question and hope for solution.

error: failed to commit transaction (conflicting files)
filesystem: /usr/lib64 exists in filesystem
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

Last edited by Ghcost (2013-01-27 12:16:59)

Offline

#3 2013-01-27 12:17:59

HungGarTiger
Member
From: nz/auckland/
Registered: 2012-06-27
Posts: 186

Re: [SOLVED] Update fails ("/usr/lib64 exists in filesystem")

Yes, for starters

1. read the news,  ---> https://www.archlinux.org/news/update-f … -together/
2. search the forums

There are multiple topics on this already

Last edited by HungGarTiger (2013-01-27 12:19:07)


"No sympathy for the devil. If you buy the ticket, take the ride."
- Hunter S. Thompson

Offline

#4 2013-01-27 12:20:25

swordfish
Member
Registered: 2012-01-14
Posts: 160

Re: [SOLVED] Update fails ("/usr/lib64 exists in filesystem")


Arch_x64 on Thinkpad Edge E520 (Intel Core i5, 4 GB RAM, 128 GB Crucial M4 SSD) + ITX-Desktop (Asrock H77M-ITX, Intel Core i3-2120T, 8GB RAM, 64 GB Samsung 830 SSD)

Offline

#5 2013-01-27 12:33:26

Ghcost
Member
Registered: 2013-01-13
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] Update fails ("/usr/lib64 exists in filesystem")

After reading https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pa … stem.22.21
I run the command below

pacman -Qo /usr/lib64

and there is no ownership of it.
Then

mv /usr/lib64 /usr/lib64.backup

and "pacman -Syu" is well.

Thanks for you all.

Last edited by Ghcost (2013-01-27 12:33:55)

Offline

#6 2013-01-27 12:35:50

Steffo
Member
Registered: 2012-10-27
Posts: 34

Re: [SOLVED] Update fails ("/usr/lib64 exists in filesystem")

swordfish wrote:

This doesn't work:

sudo pacman -U -d http://pkgbuild.com/~allan/glibc-2.16.0-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

I get following error:

error: failed to commit transaction (conflicting files)
glibc: /lib/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libBrokenLocale.so.1 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libanl.so.1 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libc.so.6 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libcidn.so.1 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libcrypt.so.1 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libdl.so.2 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libm.so.6 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libnsl.so.1 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libnss_compat.so.2 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libnss_db.so.2 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libnss_dns.so.2 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libnss_files.so.2 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libnss_hesiod.so.2 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libnss_nis.so.2 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libnss_nisplus.so.2 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libpthread.so.0 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libresolv.so.2 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/librt.so.1 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libthread_db.so.1 exists in filesystem
glibc: /lib/libutil.so.1 exists in filesystem
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

Offline

#7 2013-01-27 12:38:09

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,439
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Update fails ("/usr/lib64 exists in filesystem")

See which package owns those files and remove it.  'pacman -Qo FILE'


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#8 2013-01-27 12:42:34

Steffo
Member
Registered: 2012-10-27
Posts: 34

Re: [SOLVED] Update fails ("/usr/lib64 exists in filesystem")

Ghcost wrote:

After reading https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pa … stem.22.21
I run the command below

pacman -Qo /usr/lib64

and there is no ownership of it.
Then

mv /usr/lib64 /usr/lib64.backup

and "pacman -Syu" is well.

Thanks for you all.

OK, this worked, thx!

Offline

#9 2013-01-29 06:46:42

terminhell
Member
Registered: 2009-09-30
Posts: 18
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Update fails ("/usr/lib64 exists in filesystem")

+1
I was thinking of doing something simliar to this, but wasnt sure, nor had the time to fully work out a fix until tonight and thought of checking the forums one last time.
<3 community


useradd -m terminhell && pacman -S freedom

Offline

#10 2013-01-29 09:25:38

dkorzhevin
Member
From: Kiev, Ukraine
Registered: 2010-04-23
Posts: 60

Re: [SOLVED] Update fails ("/usr/lib64 exists in filesystem")

Thank you,
mv /usr/lib64 /usr/lib64.backup works.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB