You are not logged in.

#1 2005-10-08 23:38:19

ise
Developer
From: Karlsruhe / Germany
Registered: 2005-10-06
Posts: 402
Website

German language xpi in Firefox

Hi,

i'm not able to set german language in Firefox. I download the xpi-file from mozilla.org, installed it, but nothing happens....

Therre is no error message from Firefox and in the Tools->Extensions menu is set to active.....

Can anyone help??

Bye, ise

Offline

#2 2005-10-08 23:39:33

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,637

Re: German language xpi in Firefox

Same here. I´ve tried also a french xpi file. Same with that one.

Offline

#3 2005-10-09 08:17:28

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,441

Re: German language xpi in Firefox

You also have to tell firefox which language to use. You can do that with the command line (-contentLocale de-DE -UILocale de-DE) or by the usage of a language switcher extension.

http://www.firefox-browser.de/sprachpaket.php


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#4 2005-10-09 09:33:24

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,637

Re: German language xpi in Firefox

Using the command line "/opt/mozilla/bin/firefox -contentLocale de-DE -UILocale de-DE" works here to witch to German language.

The extension local-switcher won´t work here.

Edit: Is there a way to get it working  for other programs to open FF in German? So when I use a link in Thundebird it only woks when FF is already opened.

user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.ftp", "/opt/mozilla/bin/firefox");
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.http", "/opt/mozilla/bin/firefox-contentLocale de-DE ");
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.https", "/opt/mozilla/bin/firefox");

That won´t open anything at all. I also testet this little script firefox-de and wanted Thunderbird tu use that. But it opens a new profile.

#!/bin/sh
sh /opt/mozilla/bin/firefox -contentLocale de-DE"

:? Any idea how to open FF from external programs in German?

Offline

#5 2005-10-09 15:29:52

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,441

Re: German language xpi in Firefox

Der Locale Switcher geht hier bei mir, dann sollte das doch bei dir auch gehen. smile Ja, Firefox wird auch von andren Programmen auf Deutsch geöffnet. Für thunderbird gibt es wiederum etwas eigenes, thunderbird-mailer.de - o.ä.


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB