You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-04 08:09:01

timelaw

Arch triple boot with Win 7 and Ubuntu 12.04?

Hey!

Just wanted to ask if it would work if I installed Arch on a seperate, new, harddrive and just updated the existing GRUB 2 to include it in the boot list of GRUB. Windows' boot is still main but i get thrown to GRUB's list after Windows' boot loader is done.

Anyway, so I just wanted to know if that was possible. I'm a complete newbie to Arch but my friend has been telling me to try it out for a while so I promised him I'd do it. smile

#2 2013-02-04 08:32:25

olive

Re: Arch triple boot with Win 7 and Ubuntu 12.04?

timelaw wrote:

Hey!

Just wanted to ask if it would work if I installed Arch on a seperate, new, harddrive and just updated the existing GRUB 2 to include it in the boot list of GRUB. Windows' boot is still main but i get thrown to GRUB's list after Windows' boot loader is done.

Anyway, so I just wanted to know if that was possible. I'm a complete newbie to Arch but my friend has been telling me to try it out for a while so I promised him I'd do it. smile

I believe it will work but I don't understand all these utterly complicated grub scripts. If that does not work, you can simply edit the grub.cfg directly (or use syslinux) and disable grub-mkconfig on both distros. This is not quite hard and is well documented in this Gentoo wiki: http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GRUB2. But I dont't understand quite well you first question. Have you chainloaded grub from the Windows bootloader?

Last edited by olive (2013-02-04 08:34:46)

#3 2013-02-04 16:02:18

David Batson

Offhand, it depends.  I don't believe you can install Arch to sda1 and then have that change to sdb1 and expect it to boot.  If you have both drives connected when you install Arch, then I believe it should work.  I imagine the safe way would be to mount an .iso image of the Arch CD/DVD in your primary drive, then point Arch to install on your secondary drive.