You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-08 08:45:27

d1x
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2012-08-27
Posts: 13

Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

Hello there,

Although there is no pacman or AUR package for Eset NOD32 (Linux version), from other posts I read that some Arch users are using it. I installed via their installer it without problems but the GUI (bin/esets_gui) does not launch in my KDE. Actually the process starts without errors and is running but there is no GUI visible. It is somehow weird when their installer's GUI was working without problems. Does anyone faced similar issue or any ideas what can I try to do?

Thanks

Offline

#2 2013-02-08 12:26:07

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,528
Website

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

Virus scanner for Linux???


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#3 2013-02-08 12:42:21

blackout23
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 780

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

graysky wrote:

Virus scanner for Linux???

Maybe he is setting up a server which hosts files for windows clients. In that case a virus scanner for linux makes sense.

For linux itself a scanner is pretty irrelevant. There are 15 viruses listed for Linux on Wikipedia and half of them date back to 2003 or 2005 and are not a threat anymore. Windows on the other hand can enjoy over 10 million viruses if you check the symantec virus database.

Last edited by blackout23 (2013-02-08 12:46:02)

Offline

#4 2013-02-08 13:53:36

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,528
Website

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

blackout23 wrote:

Windows on the other hand can enjoy over 10 million viruses if you check the symantec virus database.

Nice, do they come free with purchase smile


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#5 2013-02-08 14:20:52

d1x
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2012-08-27
Posts: 13

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

Well the issue is that company, where I work is running Windows stations by default. Me and 2 other developers are using Linux but I'm the only one on the Arch (two others are using Ubuntu which has suitable packages). The company policy dictates to use this antivirus, that's why I want to install it. On my own machine at home, I'm not using antivirus at all...

Last edited by d1x (2013-02-08 14:22:04)

Offline

#6 2013-02-08 15:22:59

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,528
Website

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

That's cool.  If there is an Ubuntu package, you can write a PKGBUILD based on it no problem.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#7 2013-02-10 19:36:33

blackout23
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 780

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

Well if it's just to have an alibi use some other AV software that "works"/installs better. The only AV I know of is ClamAV never installed it though.

Last edited by blackout23 (2013-02-10 19:36:53)

Offline

#8 2013-02-11 20:42:35

Odaer
Member
Registered: 2010-08-14
Posts: 87

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

blackout23 wrote:
graysky wrote:

Virus scanner for Linux???

Maybe he is setting up a server which hosts files for windows clients. In that case a virus scanner for linux makes sense.

For linux itself a scanner is pretty irrelevant. There are 15 viruses listed for Linux on Wikipedia and half of them date back to 2003 or 2005 and are not a threat anymore. Windows on the other hand can enjoy over 10 million viruses if you check the symantec virus database.

But isn't it same thing with the  windows virus in that most of symantecs database is entries who was functional many years ago. I think this sort of companies as a interest to has a big and impressive database...

Offline

#9 2013-02-11 21:07:28

blackout23
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 780

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

Odaer wrote:
blackout23 wrote:
graysky wrote:

Virus scanner for Linux???

Maybe he is setting up a server which hosts files for windows clients. In that case a virus scanner for linux makes sense.

For linux itself a scanner is pretty irrelevant. There are 15 viruses listed for Linux on Wikipedia and half of them date back to 2003 or 2005 and are not a threat anymore. Windows on the other hand can enjoy over 10 million viruses if you check the symantec virus database.

But isn't it same thing with the  windows virus in that most of symantecs database is entries who was functional many years ago. I think this sort of companies as a interest to has a big and impressive database...

Ok make it 2 million viruses then. ;-)

Offline

#10 2013-02-12 03:16:43

Jristz
Member
From: America/Santiago
Registered: 2011-06-11
Posts: 921

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

In thread:

Give the source if is free for download, the upstream webpage, and the dep list that Ubuntu show and we try to make 'Da Magik'

EDIT: I find the website, but they have a 30 free trial version and one for Pay, I try the free only and if I can make it run I post the PKGBUIL, if not run ... no

Last edited by Jristz (2013-02-12 05:00:05)


Well, I suppose that this is somekind of signature, no?

Offline

#11 2013-02-15 01:36:08

Jristz
Member
From: America/Santiago
Registered: 2011-06-11
Posts: 921

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

Ok I test all tha tI can
You no ned a PKGBUILD, the eset_nod32av_{32,64}it_{lang}.linux is a auto-all you only need the key/licence and write a .service for sytemd

this is because that all you need is in the archive (they not use neither GTK nor QT non FLTK or any other tolkit, they use they own tolkit and all the deps  auto building inside the package) this mean that the .linux that you donwload (use 'Buy' option because the 'download trial' not work).

in other words no problem for now


Well, I suppose that this is somekind of signature, no?

Offline

#12 2013-02-15 10:35:23

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,239

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

keep in mind that if you install it through the eset installer, pacman will not be aware of it.


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#13 2013-02-16 02:24:36

Jristz
Member
From: America/Santiago
Registered: 2011-06-11
Posts: 921

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

Lone_Wolf wrote:

keep in mind that if you install it through the eset installer, pacman will not be aware of it.

is

yes, but the archive that is downloaded from the webpage is a self container taht push all to /opt/eset 'a la' windows intaller, generate a .desktop and a uninstall program/script at same time and can by only downloaded from the webpage


Well, I suppose that this is somekind of signature, no?

Offline

#14 2013-05-19 00:21:30

gnox
Member
Registered: 2013-05-18
Posts: 15

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

For me to get it working was :

- as root execute /opt/eset/esets/sbin/esets_daemon
- run the gui /opt/eset/esets/bin/esets_gui

Offline

#15 2013-05-20 04:41:21

d1x
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2012-08-27
Posts: 13

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

Thanks for all replies. From last update, running daemon and gui worked for me (dunno why, but in the time i started this topic, gui didn't work).

Offline

#16 2013-10-17 19:55:26

kdanarch
Member
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 4

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

I had been struggling earlier to find a way to get ESET running on Arch as well, since all of it's setup configuration is designed for init.d.  The information here helped out a lot, so I took another service script (sshd) and adapted it to launch the ESET daemon.  Add this to your /lib/systemd/system/ directory as esetd.service or what-have-you, and give it a systemctl enable to make it start on boot.  You'll have to add the ESET gui to your session startup applications or just run it at will.

[Unit]
Description=ESET Scanner Daemon
After=network.target

[Service]
ExecStart=/opt/eset/esets/sbin/esets_daemon
ExecReload=/bin/kill -HUP $MAINPID
KillMode=process
Restart=always

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target


I'm not super knowledgeable about creating service files but this works for me.  You may want to make some modification (Change 'After=network.target' into 'Before=multi-user.target' if you don't ever reach network target?)

Anyway, it's working great for me now, I just wanted to leave this here for anyone else making the same Google search as myself.

Offline

#17 2013-11-05 09:29:15

Ba7a7chy
Member
Registered: 2013-05-04
Posts: 35

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

kdanarch wrote:

I had been struggling earlier to find a way to get ESET running on Arch as well, since all of it's setup configuration is designed for init.d.  The information here helped out a lot, so I took another service script (sshd) and adapted it to launch the ESET daemon.  Add this to your /lib/systemd/system/ directory as esetd.service or what-have-you, and give it a systemctl enable to make it start on boot.  You'll have to add the ESET gui to your session startup applications or just run it at will.

[Unit]
Description=ESET Scanner Daemon
After=network.target

[Service]
ExecStart=/opt/eset/esets/sbin/esets_daemon
ExecReload=/bin/kill -HUP $MAINPID
KillMode=process
Restart=always

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target


I'm not super knowledgeable about creating service files but this works for me.  You may want to make some modification (Change 'After=network.target' into 'Before=multi-user.target' if you don't ever reach network target?)

Anyway, it's working great for me now, I just wanted to leave this here for anyone else making the same Google search as myself.

Thanks for this, thou, on my system what happens is this:

└──┤ sudo systemctl status eset.service
eset.service - ESET Scanner Daemon
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/eset.service; enabled)
   Active: failed (Result: start-limit) since Tue 2013-11-05 11:23:58 IST; 2s ago
  Process: 3815 ExecStart=/opt/eset/esets/sbin/esets_daemon (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
Main PID: 3815 (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)

Nov 05 11:23:58 ano systemd[1]: eset.service holdoff time over, scheduling restart.
Nov 05 11:23:58 ano systemd[1]: Stopping ESET Scanner Daemon...
Nov 05 11:23:58 ano systemd[1]: Starting ESET Scanner Daemon...
Nov 05 11:23:58 ano systemd[1]: eset.service start request repeated too quickly, refusing to start.
Nov 05 11:23:58 ano systemd[1]: Failed to start ESET Scanner Daemon.
Nov 05 11:23:58 ano systemd[1]: Unit eset.service entered failed state.

It looks like its OK for a second but then I think the daemon is forked and the main process thinks the process is dead.
A quick "ps -A | grep eset" shows it not:

└──┤ ps -A | grep eset
3787 ?        00:00:00 esets_daemon
3788 ?        00:00:00 esets_daemon
3789 ?        00:00:00 esets_mac

***Update

Found a fix, just add "Type=forking" under [Service] this will do the trick wink

Last edited by Ba7a7chy (2013-11-05 09:55:28)

Offline

#18 2013-11-05 17:55:10

kdanarch
Member
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 4

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

Thanks for the help, Ba7a7chy!

Here's the final form for those who visit this forum to copy/paste:

/etc/systemd/system/esetd.service:

[Unit]
Description=ESET Scanner Daemon
Before=multi-user.target

[Service]
ExecStart=/opt/eset/esets/sbin/esets_daemon
ExecReload=/bin/kill -HUP $MAINPID
KillMode=process
Restart=always
Type=forking

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target

Offline

#19 2014-03-19 14:17:40

blackisle
Member
Registered: 2014-03-19
Posts: 1

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

I can confirm the above is working well! Have just installed ESET X64 4.0.79.0 (downloaded direct from the ESET website) through their standard install script on Manjaro.
Other than the daemon not launching automatically (I added the above service def before testing the default) everything is working well! Updates running, scans are fine, realtime protection caught the eicar test file on extraction from the zip.
GUI is working fine with KDE and XFCE.
Well done all, thanks for putting this together!

Offline

#20 2014-03-19 14:20:38

Ba7a7chy
Member
Registered: 2013-05-04
Posts: 35

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

Someone should create an AUR package for this, they have a great support for Linux and it seems allot of people are using this anti-virus for active, real-time protection.

Offline

#21 2014-03-19 14:32:41

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: Eset NOD32 on Arch and KDE

Ba7a7chy wrote:

Someone should create an AUR package for this, they have a great support for Linux and it seems allot of people are using this anti-virus for active, real-time protection.

There's https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/esets/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB