You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-12 12:15:17

qinohe
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2012-06-20
Posts: 1,494

[SOLVED]Microcode PEBS disabled due to CPU errata

Due to a topic of someone I read yesterday I decided to check the microcode and update!

What did I do myself;

  • Check if microcode is running

    lsmod | grep microcode
    microcode              14434  0
  • Check my installed code with 'dmesg | grep microcode'.

    dmesg | grep microcode                                [0]
    [    0.229634] perf_event_intel: PEBS disabled due to CPU errata, please upgrade microcode
    [    3.424971] microcode: CPU0 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
    [    3.597858] microcode: CPU1 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
    [    4.891989] microcode: CPU2 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
    [    5.056064] microcode: CPU3 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
    [    5.088122] microcode: CPU4 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
    [    5.106315] microcode: CPU5 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
    [    5.116534] microcode: CPU6 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
    [    5.124834] microcode: CPU7 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
    [    5.130420] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba
  • Installed intel-ucode from extra an did a reboot after that.

  • Now it was time to check again!

    dmesg | grep microcode                                [0]
    [    0.229632] perf_event_intel: PEBS disabled due to CPU errata, please upgrade microcode
    [    3.175926] microcode: CPU0 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
    [    3.217953] microcode: CPU0 updated to revision 0x28, date = 2012-04-24
    [    3.217969] microcode: CPU1 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
    [    3.218315] microcode: CPU1 updated to revision 0x28, date = 2012-04-24
    [    3.218331] microcode: CPU2 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
    [    3.218749] microcode: CPU2 updated to revision 0x28, date = 2012-04-24
    [    3.218760] microcode: CPU3 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
    [    3.219176] microcode: CPU3 updated to revision 0x28, date = 2012-04-24
    [    3.219186] microcode: CPU4 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
    [    3.219602] microcode: CPU4 updated to revision 0x28, date = 2012-04-24
    [    3.219614] microcode: CPU5 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
    [    3.220032] microcode: CPU5 updated to revision 0x28, date = 2012-04-24
    [    3.220043] microcode: CPU6 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
    [    3.220458] microcode: CPU6 updated to revision 0x28, date = 2012-04-24
    [    3.220468] microcode: CPU7 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
    [    3.220884] microcode: CPU7 updated to revision 0x28, date = 2012-04-24
    [    3.220890] perf_event_intel: PEBS enabled due to microcode update
    [    3.220951] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba

It clearly updated the microcode, now I have a question about 'PEBS', I found out this means; Precise Event-Based Sampling (PEBS)
Should I be concerned about

perf_event_intel: PEBS disabled due to CPU errata, please upgrade microcode

??

I downloaded from Intel, and upacked it.
I checked 'microcede.dat' and found this;

/*  Wed Sep 19 13:42:16 CST 2012  */

This should mean this microcode is newer, why is an older one installed?

Last edited by qinohe (2013-02-12 13:11:38)

Offline

#2 2013-02-12 12:19:49

headkase
Member
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 1,975

Re: [SOLVED]Microcode PEBS disabled due to CPU errata

Looking at the time stamps it seems that the first message "PEBS disabled due to CPU errata, please upgrade microcode" is from before the microcode is applied, and the second message "PEBS enabled due to microcode update" is after the microcode update is applied.

Edit: And also, the best way to update your microcode is to go to your manufacturer and get a BIOS update.  However, that is not always an option which is why the ucode packages exists to even begin with.

Last edited by headkase (2013-02-12 12:24:43)

Offline

#3 2013-02-12 12:26:35

Meyithi
Member
From: Wirral, UK
Registered: 2009-06-21
Posts: 550
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Microcode PEBS disabled due to CPU errata

A lot of worry about nothing, PEBS was disabled, microcode enabled it just as it says in dmesg.

Also, intel-ucode 20120606_v2 as in the repos is the latest version, it was just packaged late.


The mind roams more freely in empty rooms.
dwm - colours - ncmpcpp - system
irc://irc.freenode.net:meyithi

Offline

#4 2013-02-12 12:45:56

qinohe
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2012-06-20
Posts: 1,494

Re: [SOLVED]Microcode PEBS disabled due to CPU errata

Thanks for both your posts!), I should read better, then I would have seen it is enabled now!

Edit: And also, the best way to update your microcode is to go to your manufacturer and get a BIOS update.  However, that is not always an option which is why the ucode packages exists to even begin with.

Should I stick to the BIOS microcode, or am I OK with this update? I mean could there exist inconsistencies between my BIOS code and the microcode for the processor?

Also, intel-ucode 20120606_v2 as in the repos is the latest version, it was just packaged late.

Ah thanks for making that clear!

Last edited by qinohe (2013-02-12 12:50:38)

Offline

#5 2013-02-12 12:51:57

Meyithi
Member
From: Wirral, UK
Registered: 2009-06-21
Posts: 550
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Microcode PEBS disabled due to CPU errata

qinohe wrote:

Thanks for both your posts!), I should read better, then I would have seen it is enabled now!

Edit: And also, the best way to update your microcode is to go to your manufacturer and get a BIOS update.  However, that is not always an option which is why the ucode packages exists to even begin with.

Should I stick to the BIOS microcode, or am I OK with this update? I mean could there exist inconsistencies between my BIOS code and the microcode for the processor?

I run the latest BIOS for my motherboard which was released 2 weeks ago, and it doesn't enable PEBS - so I use intel-ucode.  Again, stop worrying, if intel-ucode was detrimental we'd know about it!


The mind roams more freely in empty rooms.
dwm - colours - ncmpcpp - system
irc://irc.freenode.net:meyithi

Offline

#6 2013-02-12 13:09:47

qinohe
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2012-06-20
Posts: 1,494

Re: [SOLVED]Microcode PEBS disabled due to CPU errata

Meyithi wrote:

I run the latest BIOS for my motherboard which was released 2 weeks ago, and it doesn't enable PEBS - so I use intel-ucode.  Again, stop worrying, if intel-ucode was detrimental we'd know about it!

Yes you're right all should be OK, I won't worry!, I just wanted to be sure in this case!, thanks again.)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB