You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-16 03:32:53

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

[SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

I don't know if I am making some obvious, easily correctable mistake, or if this is a known bug. I have looked on the wiki and all I could find about Conky on Gnome was a short little thing that caused this problem:
http://imgur.com/jQPBsDq

Here is my .conkyrc file:

 # Conky, a system monitor, based on torsmo
#
# Any original torsmo code is licensed under the BSD license
#
# All code written since the fork of torsmo is licensed under the GPL
#
# Please see COPYING for details
#
# Copyright (c) 2004, Hannu Saransaari and Lauri Hakkarainen
# Copyright (c) 2005-2010 Brenden Matthews, Philip Kovacs, et. al. (see AUTHORS)
# All rights reserved.
#
# This program is free software: you can redistribute it and/or modify
# it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
# the Free Software Foundation, either version 3 of the License, or
# (at your option) any later version.
#
# This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
# but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
# MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the
# GNU General Public License for more details.
# You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
# along with this program.  If not, see <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/>.
#
own_window yes
own_window_type conky
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
alignment lower_right
background yes
border_width 1
cpu_avg_samples 2
default_color white
default_outline_color white
default_shade_color white
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders yes
draw_outline no
draw_shades no
use_xft yes
xftfont DejaVu Sans Mono:size=12
gap_x 5
gap_y 60
minimum_size 5 5
net_avg_samples 2
no_buffers yes
out_to_console no
out_to_stderr no
extra_newline no
stippled_borders 0
update_interval 1.0
uppercase no
use_spacer none
show_graph_scale no
show_graph_range no

TEXT
${scroll 16 $nodename - $sysname $kernel on $machine | }
$hr
${color grey}Uptime:$color $uptime
${color grey}Frequency (in MHz):$color $freq
${color grey}Frequency (in GHz):$color $freq_g
${color grey}RAM Usage:$color $mem/$memmax - $memperc% ${membar 4}
${color grey}Swap Usage:$color $swap/$swapmax - $swapperc% ${swapbar 4}
${color grey}CPU Usage:$color $cpu% ${cpubar 4}
${color grey}Processes:$color $processes  ${color grey}Running:$color $running_processes
$hr
${color grey}File systems:
 / $color${fs_used /}/${fs_size /} ${fs_bar 6 /}
${color grey}Networking:
Up:$color ${upspeed eth0} ${color grey} - Down:$color ${downspeed eth0}
$hr
${color grey}Name              PID   CPU%   MEM%
${color lightgrey} ${top name 1} ${top pid 1} ${top cpu 1} ${top mem 1}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 2} ${top pid 2} ${top cpu 2} ${top mem 2}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 3} ${top pid 3} ${top cpu 3} ${top mem 3}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 4} ${top pid 4} ${top cpu 4} ${top mem 4} 

Has anyone else discovered a way to make conky work transparently with Gnome as a DE?
Thanks for the help!

Last edited by treeman1111 (2013-02-17 22:21:02)

Offline

#2 2013-02-16 03:34:20

FlyingHappy
Member
From: Cincinnati, OH
Registered: 2011-04-18
Posts: 186

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

I can't really help any more than telling you it would probably be a huge help to post your conkyrc that you are using.

Offline

#3 2013-02-16 03:37:49

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

Sorry, just realized that I did not post that tongue It is up there now.

Offline

#4 2013-02-16 06:57:30

skunktrader
Member
From: Brisbane, Australia
Registered: 2010-02-14
Posts: 1,320

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

Try adding

own_window_argb_visual yes

Try removing

own_window_type conky

According to the documentation, the valid values are normal, desktop, dock, panel or override (default: normal)

Last edited by skunktrader (2013-02-16 07:00:57)

Offline

#5 2013-02-16 14:10:29

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

Awesome! Thanks!

Offline

#6 2013-02-16 14:13:49

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

One more question: Why is it that I have the window location set to lower_right it appears in the lower left?

Offline

#7 2013-02-16 14:34:25

NoSavvy
Member
From: Dorchester, Dorset, UK
Registered: 2013-01-23
Posts: 38

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

Try:-   alignment bl

Last edited by NoSavvy (2013-02-16 14:34:44)

Offline

#8 2013-02-16 14:35:43

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

Thanks NoSavvy!

Offline

#9 2013-02-16 14:36:41

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

Do you guys have any really cool conkyrc files?

Offline

#10 2013-02-16 14:37:57

NoSavvy
Member
From: Dorchester, Dorset, UK
Registered: 2013-01-23
Posts: 38

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

Yeh! But the fun of it is the trial and error of doing your own.

Offline

#11 2013-02-16 15:20:05

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

True, I just need some place to start from.

Offline

#12 2013-02-16 17:55:59

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,822
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

treeman1111 wrote:

Do you guys have any really cool conkyrc files?

Only a 41 page thread that is hidden stickied in Artwork and Screenshots...


Seriously, make some effort yourself; we don't do hand-holding here.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#13 2013-02-16 19:48:11

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

All you do is follow me around and tell me what I am doing wrong.

Offline

#14 2013-02-16 19:57:18

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,822
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

treeman1111 wrote:

All you do is follow me around and tell me what I am doing wrong.

Thats because you keep exhibiting the same behaviours, despite being asked not to.

I'll link you (again) to the Forum Etiquette. Please read all of it.

Don't expect that help vampirism will be tolerated here, it won't.

I'll also remind you of the Arch Way

This user-centric design necessarily implies a certain "do-it-yourself" approach to using the Arch distribution. Rather than pursuing assistance or requesting a new feature to be implemented by developers, Arch Linux users have a tendency to solve problems themselves and generously share the results with the community and development team – a "do first, then ask" philosophy.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#15 2013-02-16 22:02:17

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,965

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

Moderator comment: 

treeman1111 wrote:

All you do is follow me around and tell me what I am doing wrong.

Also, Since jasonwryan did not specifically point it out, Allow me to guide you to this sub article

You might also peruse the link in my signature.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#16 2013-02-19 23:45:00

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

Sorry about that -- I will try to follow those in the future.

Offline

#17 2013-02-22 02:11:38

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,475
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

...and here is a response to your trouble with the bottom line being cut off:

I was having the same problem, and I was getting pretty frustrated about it. I think I found the solution, and I think it will make you laugh.

Put an empty newline at the end of your conkyrc file. tongue

Does that fix it?

Last edited by drcouzelis (2013-02-22 02:12:42)

Offline

#18 2013-02-22 21:05:07

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: [SOLVED] Conky troubles with Gnome

Lol, I will try that

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB