You are not logged in.

#1 2003-10-22 12:11:29

Pyke

Gnome 2.4 - Nautilus hangs

I am completely new to Arch Linux - have just completed installation of Arch 0.5 on my laptop which formerly ran Gentoo. I am impressed until now, but I have a problem with Gnome 2.4. I've installed all Gnome packages but when I start Gnome (from gdm) I first get an error message about Gnome not being able to resolve the host name of my machine to an IP address and when it comes to loading Nautilus it just hangs. I haven't run Gnome in more than 2 years so I have absolutely no idea about what to do ;-). Can anyone help?

And by the way, where is the config file for gdm - I want to add more sessions.

/Pyke

#2 2003-10-22 14:05:40

andy

Re: Gnome 2.4 - Nautilus hangs

About the name-IP issue, check /etc/hosts , if your domain is foo.bar it should contain (at least) the followng lines :

127.0.0.1                     localhost.foo.bar localhost
YOUR.IP.NUMBER     YOUR-MACHINE-NAME.foo.bar YOUR-MACHINE-NAME

why nautilus  hangs ? I don't know ...

how to configure gdm ? Once you are in Gnome, you can select in the config menu to configure gdm - just search through the various config menus. I also think, you can then configure it so that a configure option is visible in gdm itself already.

#3 2003-10-22 14:24:09

Pyke

Thanx. I had figured out the hosts file was to blame. However, it raises a new question: How do I make dhcpcd add the IP address and hostname of my machine automatically to the hosts file (I change domains quite often, so I don't want to have to do it manually).

Well, back to the Gnome problem. I better explain myself more clearly: Gnome simply doesn't start. It just hangs with the splash screen and the message "Loading Nautilus". Nothing happens after that and top shows me that Nautilus isn't loading - in fact no processes related to Gnome consume CPU time after that. Here's a list of what I've done on the box until now:

- install Arch 0.5 - only base packages