You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-16 18:16:09

Konfuzed
Member
Registered: 2013-02-16
Posts: 1

Volume control missing

Hey all, I have a somewhat fresh install of Arch running here on my laptop.  I have encountered an issue and am not sure what to do.  I have searched like crazy last night trying to find a solution and nothing.  I'm kind of newbie to the Arch style, but willing to learn.  It's my hobby when Winblows isn't required for work. wink

I have GNOME3 running, and I'm missing my volume control when I'm logged in (upper right).  The weird part, it's there when I'm at the login screen.  I can still hear sounds via internet videos and such, just no control.  I have tried adding my user to the audio group which was one of the solutions I found.I was able to get volume controls via terminal, but was hoping to get that control on the panel.

# cat /proc/version
Linux version 3.7.8-1-ARCH (nobody@foutrelis) (gcc version 4.7.2 (GCC) ) #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Feb 15 03:39:05 EET 2013
# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family DRAM Controller (rev 09)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200/2nd Generation Core Processor Family PCI Express Root Port (rev 09)
00:01.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200/2nd Generation Core Processor Family PCI Express Root Port (rev 09)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 (rev 05)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev b5)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 2 (rev b5)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 6 (rev b5)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 (rev 05)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation HM65 Express Chipset Family LPC Controller (rev 05)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family 6 port SATA AHCI Controller (rev 05)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 05)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF119 [GeForce GT 520M] (rev a1)
04:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)
05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR8151 v2.0 Gigabit Ethernet (rev c0)

Last edited by Konfuzed (2013-02-16 18:30:41)

Offline

#2 2013-02-18 12:18:47

floby
Member
Registered: 2013-02-16
Posts: 2

Re: Volume control missing

You can control with alsamixer. Install it if you don't have it already. I'm not an expert on gnome so I don't know if you simply need to add a sound control widget or what. But alsamixer (or gnome alsamixer if you want a gui) should get you in control of your sound card.


ohgodwhatisthisimnotverygoodatcomputers

Offline

#3 2013-02-19 12:10:55

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,237

Re: Volume control missing

since OP is using gnome3, his sound system is very likely using pulseaudio. I doubt alsamixer will help much.

Konfuzed, You could try pavucontrol from [extra] .

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2013-02-19 12:11:15)


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB