You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-17 15:08:01

xylosper
Member
Registered: 2011-04-16
Posts: 167

How to set on-board graphics memory of my macbook?

I've installed Arch Linux in my macbook pro (2011 early 13inch).
I've upgraded RAM from 4G to 8G, and in OS X, this doubled graphics memory from 256MB to 512MB automatically.
However, in Arch Linux, the graphics memory is recognized only as 256MB which is original value before memory upgrading.
I wonder if I can adjust GRAM to expand it.

Offline

#2 2013-02-17 18:40:09

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: How to set on-board graphics memory of my macbook?

Isn't Intel graphics shared memory and thus allotted as needed? I really am not totally sure about this one, so I am really asking. I have Intel hd4000 graphics and I seem to remember that the reported graphics memory is reported only as what is being used. So maybe it is just reporting what is the minimum amount of shared ram?

I'm not at my computer right now so I am really not sure. Sorry I couodnt be of more specific/reliable help.

Offline

#3 2013-02-18 09:27:21

hunterthomson
Member
Registered: 2008-06-22
Posts: 794
Website

Re: How to set on-board graphics memory of my macbook?

Hum, interesting. I have Intel HD4000 and 16GB of ram. I should have quite a lot of video ram, like 1GB.

It is very, very possible that we do have more video ram but what we are looking at is not telling us what we think it is. I was fairly sure that Intel Graphics did all it's video ram scaling stuff on it's own.

% sudo lspci -v -s 00:02.0
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
        Subsystem: Lenovo Device 21fa
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 42
        Memory at f0000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4M]
        Memory at e0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
        I/O ports at 5000 [size=64]
        Expansion ROM at <unassigned> [disabled]
        Capabilities: [90] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit-
        Capabilities: [d0] Power Management version 2
        Capabilities: [a4] PCI Advanced Features
        Kernel driver in use: i915

Last edited by hunterthomson (2013-02-18 09:29:36)


OpenBSD-current Thinkpad X230, i7-3520M, 16GB CL9 Kingston, Samsung 830 256GB
Contributor: linux-grsec

Offline

#4 2013-02-18 09:39:23

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,471

Re: How to set on-board graphics memory of my macbook?

lspci only shows ram that's directly mapped by the CPU. But the GPU can access ram beyond that. So the lspci output is meaningless. /var/log/Xorg.0.log might tell a bit more, but it may not in this case because WonderWoofy is right - the Intel GPU allocates ram dynamically.

Explained in more detail by an AMD guy: http://phoronix.com/forums/showthread.p … post150696

Offline

#5 2013-02-18 09:52:49

hunterthomson
Member
Registered: 2008-06-22
Posts: 794
Website

Re: How to set on-board graphics memory of my macbook?

Right on. I was thinking it was something like that.


OpenBSD-current Thinkpad X230, i7-3520M, 16GB CL9 Kingston, Samsung 830 256GB
Contributor: linux-grsec

Offline

#6 2013-02-26 13:54:53

xylosper
Member
Registered: 2011-04-16
Posts: 167

Re: How to set on-board graphics memory of my macbook?

Thank you. I'll just believe and relieve myself.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB