You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-26 10:06:18

papa6
Member
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 7

(solved) No printer detected under any application except Cups browsin

Hi everybody,
After an update I've lost all the listed printers : when I want to print, whatever the application (evince, libreoffice, epdfviewer, even firefox...) the printer list is empty.

I use cups, which is correctly running under systemd. From a browser, I can get into http://localhost:631/, define new printers, and also print page test !
I browse under my normal account, and need to switch to root account only to define new printers and for special operations (as I used to do before my upgrade).

I checked this behavior whith 2 different printers (the problem is on a EEE, so, I can move it) : both are HP (PSC 1315 which needs PSC 1310 PPD, and LaserJet 8100 which normaly goes fine).

As mentionned on the CUPS wiki page, I had to remove the foomatic packages, and even the phplip package. (I have the PPD file).

Does someone have any idea ? Thanks :-)

Last edited by papa6 (2013-03-01 19:18:37)

Offline

#2 2013-02-26 18:37:30

papa6
Member
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 7

Re: (solved) No printer detected under any application except Cups browsin

In order to sumerize :

Here, I have 2 computers, with Arch, and one HP printer (PSC 1310, with USB). Both have the same packages installed, mainly cups related packages.

On the one where Cups is working, I have extract the .ppd from the right directory : /usr/share/cups/model/ and copied it to the same directory but on my EEE (the laptop where printers have disappeared after update)

Then, on the EEE, I ran cups under my browser, add a new printer with the USB I just switch from the right computer. Everything is going well, even printing a test page.

But when I want to print a document, still no printer is listed...

Offline

#3 2013-03-01 19:17:45

papa6
Member
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 7

Re: (solved) No printer detected under any application except Cups browsin

Solved !

The ServerName in the file /etc/cups/client.conf should be mentionned without any http://

ServerName localhost:631
# Not like that : ServerName http://localhost:631

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB