You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-26 22:21:23

JustMe

[SOLVED] Problem with IBM ThinkPad 2647-4EU Graphics - glitchy

Hi all,

I have an IBM ThinkPad 2647-4EU, it works great, but when I start awesome the top half of the screen looks ok but the bottom half is all corrupted. Graphic card works in xp. Also the awesome bar at the top is cut in half same way...

According to:

lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: S3 Inc. 86C270-294 Savage/IX-MV (rev 13)

It is a Savage graphics card so I installed the driver:

sudo pacman -S xf86-video-savage

Without that driver, startx says no screens found...

Is there anything that I can update / downgrade or install to make this work???

Please post exactly what I need to type (I don't want anything lost in translation because I'm still pretty new to this)

Thanks!

Last edited by JustMe (2013-02-28 23:58:01)

#2 2013-02-27 05:46:25

root

Re: [SOLVED] Problem with IBM ThinkPad 2647-4EU Graphics - glitchy

Xorg dropped the XAA module since 1.13 onward if I am not mistaken and the savage card seems not to handle very well the new mode/module it is switched to automatically and thus this screen corruption appears, see this.

As far as I am concerned, as a T23 user myself, there are several options you may consider,

1) downgrade to the following packages due to dependencies,

xf86-input-evdev-2.7.3-1
xf86-video-savage-2.3.6-1
xorg-server-1.12.4-1
xorg-server-common-1.12.4-1

That should restore the behaviour to what you are used to (in my case that includes being able to play movies using f.e. VLC which demands hardware acceleration capacities to work correctly)

2) If you are using a xorg.conf file change the AccelMethod to EXA like this,

Option "AccelMethod" "EXA" # <str>

That will restore too the behaviour though you may be affected by a noticeable slow window rendering causing heavy CPU use by X.