You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-01 09:23:29

uberscientist
Member
Registered: 2012-01-27
Posts: 76

[SOLVED] TF2 (Team Fortress 2) glitchy during gameplay

Check out this awesome glitchy video

Any ideas on why this is happening?
Thanks! I don't think I got it installed in time for the penguin :-(

EDIT, because I forgot to list information:

Video card:
05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV710 [Radeon HD 4350]

Video Driver:
xf86-video-ati

Desktop:
XFCE4

If you would like to know anything else, let me know!

Last edited by uberscientist (2013-03-02 03:59:26)

Offline

#2 2013-03-01 09:41:01

ChemBro
Member
Registered: 2008-10-22
Posts: 668

Re: [SOLVED] TF2 (Team Fortress 2) glitchy during gameplay

Without stating, which video card and driver you are using, one can only guess.

Offline

#3 2013-03-01 09:45:47

uberscientist
Member
Registered: 2012-01-27
Posts: 76

Re: [SOLVED] TF2 (Team Fortress 2) glitchy during gameplay

ChemBro wrote:

Without stating, which video card and driver you are using, one can only guess.

xf86-video-ati, oops! Sorry, didn't think of listing that, I added desktop environment and videocard retrieved from lspci

Offline

#4 2013-03-01 09:55:30

kaszak696
Member
Registered: 2009-05-26
Posts: 543

Re: [SOLVED] TF2 (Team Fortress 2) glitchy during gameplay

Try catalyst-legacy.


'What can be asserted without evidence can also be dismissed without evidence.' - Christopher Hitchens
'There's no such thing as addiction, there's only things that you enjoy doing more than life.' - Doug Stanhope
GitHub Junkyard

Offline

#5 2013-03-02 01:12:31

uberscientist
Member
Registered: 2012-01-27
Posts: 76

Re: [SOLVED] TF2 (Team Fortress 2) glitchy during gameplay

Dear god... I just spent the last hour trying to install the catalyst-legacy driver.

I need to write a full tutorial sometime maybe, but this is important:

pacman -Rns $(pacman -Qsq xf86-video) 
#will remove every open source video driver installed

We don't want to follow the wiki because it's outdated, instead of installing the "catalyst" package, we want to use "catalyst-hook" (or catalyst-daemon I suppose).
This is because of licensing issues with AMD or something?

Then we run this to make the xorg.conf contain ATI stuff:

sudo aticonfig --initial

So, I was able to reboot and everything seemed to load fine, however when I try to start TF2 I now get:
ff56kkx.png

And I got rid of that by installing lib32-catalyst-utils, whew!

TF2 is working fine now!

Last edited by uberscientist (2013-03-02 03:07:36)

Offline

#6 2013-03-02 03:04:00

oxez
Member
From: QC
Registered: 2009-08-26
Posts: 38
Website

Re: [SOLVED] TF2 (Team Fortress 2) glitchy during gameplay

@uberscientist, I don't have an ATI card, but I recall having this problem with my nvidia drivers.

I had to install the 32bit version of the drivers, Steam and it's games are 32-bit on Linux I think. Is there such a thing as 32bit libraries for your catalyst driver?

Offline

#7 2013-03-02 03:06:43

uberscientist
Member
Registered: 2012-01-27
Posts: 76

Re: [SOLVED] TF2 (Team Fortress 2) glitchy during gameplay

It's working fine now, thanks everyone! And yes, I just had to install "lib32-catalyst-utils"

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB