You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-01 14:31:43

justdanyul
Member
Registered: 2011-09-29
Posts: 66

Is it possible to add priority to packages?

Say, if I wanted to ensure that updates to package A where applied before updates to B are applied, would this be possible with pacman?

Offline

#2 2013-03-01 14:36:31

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,709

Re: Is it possible to add priority to packages?

Short story; No
Long Story; version deps (sort of)

Last edited by Mr.Elendig (2013-03-01 14:37:08)


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#3 2013-03-01 14:44:42

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,177
Website

Re: Is it possible to add priority to packages?

See SyncFirst in pacman.conf

Offline

#4 2013-03-01 15:08:42

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,709

Re: Is it possible to add priority to packages?

SyncFirst is semi-broken. It doesn't handle deps correctly


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#5 2013-03-01 17:22:34

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,177
Website

Re: Is it possible to add priority to packages?

Well, I have only seen it in action with pacman tongue

Offline

#6 2013-03-01 17:40:58

ball
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-12-23
Posts: 164

Re: Is it possible to add priority to packages?

Citing Allan McRae

[...] a feature of pacman called SyncFirst that is removed for the upcoming pacman-4.1 [...]

(Source: http://allanmcrae.com/2012/12/battle-of … spin-offs/ )

I don't think one should rely on SyncFirst...

Last edited by ball (2013-03-01 17:41:16)

Offline

#7 2013-03-01 17:45:28

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Is it possible to add priority to packages?

ball wrote:

Citing Allan McRae

[...] a feature of pacman called SyncFirst that is removed for the upcoming pacman-4.1 [...]

(Source: http://allanmcrae.com/2012/12/battle-of … spin-offs/ )

I don't think one should rely on SyncFirst...

Allan broke it? smile

Offline

#8 2013-03-01 17:53:27

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,327
Website

Re: Is it possible to add priority to packages?

Allan removed it...

Offline

#9 2013-03-01 18:19:28

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: Is it possible to add priority to packages?

pacman -Syu --ignore pkgB ; pacman -S pkgB

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB