You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-02 14:20:40

otto88
Member
Registered: 2012-12-16
Posts: 74

KDE misses the shutdown and reboot buttons

I don't have the buttons of reboot and shutdown in the kickoff menu !!!
I only have the Sleep and Hibernate buttons.

this is my sudo configuration

sudo -ll
Voce sudoers:
    RunAsUsers: ALL
    Comandi:
        ALL

i should have all permission, therefore even shutdown and reboot the system, isn't?

Info:
Linux arch 3.6.11-1-ARCH #1 and KDE: 4.10.00

Last edited by jasonwryan (2013-03-03 00:30:59)

Offline

#2 2013-03-02 15:01:00

mcmillan
Member
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 703

Re: KDE misses the shutdown and reboot buttons

How are you logging in? kdm, startx from command line, other?

Offline

#3 2013-03-02 15:46:35

otto88
Member
Registered: 2012-12-16
Posts: 74

Re: KDE misses the shutdown and reboot buttons

I'm logging with SLIM

Offline

#4 2013-03-03 00:02:13

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: KDE misses the shutdown and reboot buttons

I think that those commands are the responsibility of KDM so I'm not sure what you would need to do to have them feature in the menu.

Can you shutdown/reboot at the command line OK as your regular user?


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#5 2013-03-03 00:33:05

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 20,129
Website

Re: KDE misses the shutdown and reboot buttons

I have edited your first post for you: please choose informative thread titles that are specific to your issue
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … ow_to_Post

I also removed all of the redundant exclamation marks; they add nothing to your title except the likelihood of annoying pedants like me...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#6 2013-03-03 05:23:14

cookies
Member
Registered: 2013-01-17
Posts: 253

Re: KDE misses the shutdown and reboot buttons

otto88 wrote:

I don't have the buttons of reboot and shutdown in the kickoff menu !!!
I only have the Sleep and Hibernate buttons.

I had a similar problem with xfce once; I just had to add the reboot and shutdown option to the menu to have them easily accessible.

I haven't used KDE myself but you should be able to do the same there, either by right-clicking somewhere on the menu in question or by digging through the KDE config stuff, whereever they might have put that option.

Offline

#7 2013-03-03 05:42:14

henk
Member
From: Weert, Netherlands
Registered: 2013-01-01
Posts: 332

Re: KDE misses the shutdown and reboot buttons

I've read a  Bridge Linux review late December, where the reviewer had the same problems with the KDE version.

http://mylinuxexplore.blogspot.nl/2012/ … h-bit.html

I know Brigde is not the same as genuine Arch, but maybe some of the comments could be helpfull.

Offline

#8 2013-03-03 17:41:48

adee
Member
From: The Moon
Registered: 2009-11-10
Posts: 110

Re: KDE misses the shutdown and reboot buttons

Use systemd and kdm.

Offline

#9 2013-03-04 20:48:51

otto88
Member
Registered: 2012-12-16
Posts: 74

Re: KDE misses the shutdown and reboot buttons

@cfr

yes, i may shutdown/reboot by command line ( sudo shutdown -h now)

@cookies

the right click doesn't work !!!

@henk
thanks but i've finded nothing.

@adee

i've already used systemd and i would again  keep on SLIM, but if there isn't another way, i'll switch to kdm.

Offline

#10 2013-03-04 22:04:06

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: KDE misses the shutdown and reboot buttons

Since you are using systemd, are you able to run systemctl reboot or systemctl poweroff?

Offline

#11 2013-03-05 14:16:27

otto88
Member
Registered: 2012-12-16
Posts: 74

Re: KDE misses the shutdown and reboot buttons

yes it works.

Offline

#12 2013-03-09 18:45:17

cookies
Member
Registered: 2013-01-17
Posts: 253

Re: KDE misses the shutdown and reboot buttons

otto88 wrote:

@cfr
@cookies

the right click doesn't work !!!

Damn! Ok, check this out, maybe you find the hidden menu option somewhere to turn it on
http://forum.kde.org/viewtopic.php?f=66 … 0&p=167447

but I wouldn't bet on it...
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=162260
http://forum.kde.org/viewtopic.php?f=66&t=85321
http://forum.kde.org/viewtopic.php?f=67 … 2&p=253207

otto88 wrote:

@adee

i've already used systemd and i would again  keep on SLIM, but if there isn't another way, i'll switch to kdm.

You might switch from KDE to something else and keep on using slim wink

Offline

#13 2013-03-11 15:58:36

otto88
Member
Registered: 2012-12-16
Posts: 74

Re: KDE misses the shutdown and reboot buttons

ok, i read https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=162260, but i don'get it very well, can anyone help me with the solution ?

Offline

#14 2013-03-11 22:48:31

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: KDE misses the shutdown and reboot buttons

As I read that report, there is no solution. Judging by the linked bug at https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=186198, it should now work with GDM as well as KDM but it is not currently set up to work with slim.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB