You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-04 16:16:42

b9anders
Member
Registered: 2007-11-07
Posts: 681

Libreoffice - gtk2 only?

The libreoffice-gnome package depends on both gtk2 and gtk3. Since I don't use gtk3, is there a way I can compile a modified version of the libreoffice-gnome, call it "libreoffice-gtk2" or something, that depends on and provides only for a gtk2 interface? I had a look at the libreoffice PKGBUILD in abs, but it is such a beast of a pkgbuild, my attempts to trim it down to a hypothetical "libreoffice-gtk2" PKGBUILD  simply fail.

Has anyone thought to have a go at this? We have evince for gtk2 only and networkmanager-applet for gtk2, would make sense to have a "libreoffice-gtk2" package too.

Offline

#2 2013-03-04 16:44:33

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,523
Website

Re: Libreoffice - gtk2 only?

I thought about it, back when I purged my system of GTK3 applications. But then I noticed LibreOffice uses GTK2 by default. I don't really care about having the GTK3 package installed on my computer, as long as none of the applications use it. hmm

Offline

#3 2013-03-04 17:09:49

b9anders
Member
Registered: 2007-11-07
Posts: 681

Re: Libreoffice - gtk2 only?

Problem for me is that LO doesn't pick up the gtk2 theme:

http://i.imgur.com/yl43dHMl.png



-- mod edit: read the Forum Etiquette and only post thumbnails http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/For … s_and_Code [jwr] --

Offline

#4 2013-03-04 17:23:56

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,523
Website

Re: Libreoffice - gtk2 only?

b9anders wrote:

Problem for me is that LO doesn't pick up the gtk2 theme

That's strange... You, of course, have the libreoffice-gnome package installed, correct? (Sorry, I won't be able to see the screenshot until I get home sad)

Offline

#5 2013-03-04 17:47:21

b9anders
Member
Registered: 2007-11-07
Posts: 681

Re: Libreoffice - gtk2 only?

drcouzelis wrote:
b9anders wrote:

Problem for me is that LO doesn't pick up the gtk2 theme

That's strange... You, of course, have the libreoffice-gnome package installed, correct? (Sorry, I won't be able to see the screenshot until I get home sad)

No. The point is, I would rather not install it since it depends on gtk3. What I would like to see is a 'libreoffice-gnome' package tweaked without the gtk3 dependency.

Last edited by b9anders (2013-03-04 17:47:52)

Offline

#6 2013-03-04 17:48:23

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,640

Re: Libreoffice - gtk2 only?

b9anders wrote:

No. The point is, I would rather not install it since it depends on gtk3. What I would like to see is a 'libreoffice-gnome' package tweaked without the gtk3 dependency.

ABS is your friend wink

Offline

#7 2013-03-04 19:29:25

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 2,151

Re: Libreoffice - gtk2 only?

You could just ignore the gtk3-dependency. If you want to cleanly remove it, delete the file libvclplug_gtk3lo.so in the package and modify the dependency list.
Maybe gtk2 and gtk3 should be optdepends since they are not entirely necessary for the package to function and you usually install libreoffice-gnome only after you have gtk installed and so the package doesn't need to pull it.

Offline

#8 2013-03-04 20:52:08

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,523
Website

Re: Libreoffice - gtk2 only?

I just looked at the PKGBUILD file for LibreOffice. It doesn't look too bad. It's pretty easy to understand every line that has the word "gnome" or "gtk" in it.

I'll try making a PKGBUILD file for it tonight. I think LibreOffice is the only package on my computer that depends on GTK3. tongue

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB