You are not logged in.

#1 2005-10-19 11:27:52

Neuro

KDE 3.4.3 and -fvisibility-inlines-hidden

Hi folks,

First of... Arch is great (migrated from Slack wink ). And yea, it's great that it's optimised for i686 and such wink

However the KDE packages in Arch are a bit... slow wink I mean I have a decent (but not a high-end) system (Ath-XP 2500, 512 MB DDR400), but I still had to wait a bit for Konqueror to open (I use it as a file manager, my browser is Firefox).

Now, what I've heard was that -fivisibility-inlines-hidden thingy in gcc 4.0 speeds up C++ applications. Yea, I've heard that these flags are added automagically during ./configure while building KDE, but I've never been able to spot them in gcc compile commands while make'ing.

Thus, I've decided to give it a shot myself and recompile some (since I don't use the rest that often) KDE packages using the following flags:

export CFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
export CXXFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -fvisibility-inlines-hidden"

And yea.. I know some of you will now say: hey, Arch is not an athlon-xp optimised distro, but a generic 686 one. Yea, I know. But AFAIK the athlon-xp specific optimisations don't have such a  big meaning (being SSE, 3dNow and such mostly) to normal aps.

I've recompiled the following packages:

kdelibs
kdebase
kdeutils
kdegraphics

And you know what? I don't have to wait for Konqueror anymore. It opens in a blink of an eye. So does Kpdf with large documents. And yea.. I know these aren't hard numbers but rather impressions...