You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-13 23:06:00

c26zwj
Member
Registered: 2013-03-13
Posts: 16

[SOLVED] Question about network setup static and dynamic

I am trying to set up an Arch install on my other pc.  I have used Ubuntu and then Linux Mint for a year+ and Arch has always intrigued me so I am attempting to install it now.  I do consider myself a pretty advanced computer user/programmer but computer networking has always confused me a little.  I'm not quite understanding whether I setup my network with a static or dynamic ip.  This is what I know

I have a static ip assigned to me by my ISP but I do have a router so it assigns me a different internal ip.  Does that make my ip dynamic?

Last edited by c26zwj (2013-03-14 18:24:35)

Offline

#2 2013-03-13 23:21:37

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 5,688
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Question about network setup static and dynamic

If your ISP assigns a static IP then your IP in the internet is static. If you have a different internal IP then your router is running a DHCP server and performing network address translation. Your IP on the LAN is dynamic (unless you configure your router to assign static IPs, which can be useful if you want to forward ports to a specific computer). You most likely want to use DHCP to obtain a dynamic internal IP when you connect. The external IP is beyond your control (it is managed by the ISP and assigned to the router) so you do not need to worry about it.

Offline

#3 2013-03-13 23:29:20

c26zwj
Member
Registered: 2013-03-13
Posts: 16

Re: [SOLVED] Question about network setup static and dynamic

That's pretty much what I thought.  Just wanted to double check I need to set up as dynamic.  Thanks

Offline

#4 2013-03-14 01:47:28

teateawhy
Member
From: GER
Registered: 2012-03-05
Posts: 1,048
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Question about network setup static and dynamic

Before you mark this as solved maybe consider the advantages of a static (internal) ip. If the router is your own you can usually use static ip adresses.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … IP_address

Offline

#5 2013-03-14 18:21:17

c26zwj
Member
Registered: 2013-03-13
Posts: 16

Re: [SOLVED] Question about network setup static and dynamic

I'll consider that but set up as dynamic for now

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB