You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-24 22:25:16

yuszuv

libMagickCore-Q16.so.7 - Trying to understand what happened

Hi,

I'm relatively new to arch and I'm no experienced C compiler, but anyway I want to understand how my linux distro works under the hood and what went wrong, when I simply typed 'pacman -Syu'. Perhaps someone can help me smile The situation is as follows:

I was playing aroud with the upcoming release of rails, building an app, that uses the 'rmagick' gem (freakin cool ruby way to say 'package'; in case you don't know). But upgrading my arch as usual, for a few days now my rails server doesn't start anymore, instead saying:

/home/jan/.rbenv/versions/2.0.0-p0/lib/ruby/gems/2.0.0/gems/activesupport-4.0.0.beta1/lib/active_support/dependencies.rb:228:in `require': libMagickCore-Q16.so.7: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory - /home/jan/.rbenv/versions/2.0.0-p0/lib/ruby/gems/2.0.0/gems/rmagick-2.13.2/lib/RMagick2.so (LoadError)

But:

$ ls -l /home/jan/.rbenv/versions/2.0.0-p0/lib/ruby/gems/2.0.0/gems/rmagick-2.13.2/lib/RMagick2.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 jan users 528487 Mar  9 04:22 /home/jan/.rbenv/versions/2.0.0-p0/lib/ruby/gems/2.0.0/gems/rmagick-2.13.2/lib/RMagick2.so

So this file seems to exist at all.

And a quick search on my file system yields

$ sudo find / -iname "*libmagickcore*"                                                             
/usr/lib/libMagickCore-6.Q16.so.1.0.0
/usr/lib/libMagickCore-6.Q16.so.1
/usr/lib/libMagickCore-6.Q16.so