You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-25 18:40:55

Crow1991
Member
Registered: 2013-03-13
Posts: 9

[SOLVED] init 5 excess arguments

Hello everyone, I'm an IT student from Greece.
I recently switched to Arch from Debian/Ubuntu, so far it's been a joy using the OS (the package manager is really awesome)
I am however relatively new to Linux and have therefore a vague understanding of its' function. One thing I noticed was the "init 3 Excess arguments" message. I would like to know more about it, I know there are 5-6 runlevels but how are they implemented in the Arch kernel and most importantly how can they be invoked ?

Thank you.

Jim.

Last edited by Crow1991 (2013-11-21 09:34:55)

Offline

#2 2013-03-25 19:00:06

chris_l
Member
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 387

Re: [SOLVED] init 5 excess arguments

Probably you know it, but Arch does not use init anymore.

Arch uses Systemd. That error *I think* is because systemd is not runnig with pid 1. Not sure.

About switching runlevels on systemd, read this: http://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Softwar … dQuestions


"open source is about choice"
No.
Open source is about opening the source code complying with this conditions, period. The ability to choose among several packages is just a nice side effect.

Offline

#3 2013-03-25 19:08:42

Crow1991
Member
Registered: 2013-03-13
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] init 5 excess arguments

I didn't know that. Thanks for the update Chris, I'll have a look.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB