You are not logged in.

#1 2005-10-23 01:55:16

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

adesklets

i'm trying to get adesklets to work on arch64. I had it working once before but it doesn't seem to work now. I created a .adesklets config because when i ran /usr/share/adesklets/yab.py it wasn't creating one. Now when i run adesklets nothing happens. It sits there for a while but nothing shows up on the screen and then i just quietly takes me back to a prompt. I'm using xfce4 with metacity and rox. When i ran yab.py it did create a config.txt and put stuff in it.

Offline

#2 2005-10-23 03:41:47

elasticdog
Member
From: Washington, USA
Registered: 2005-05-02
Posts: 995
Website

Re: adesklets

I think they changed fake root window detection for the newest version of adesklets.  Somebody mentioned it on the mailing list, and to get it up and running for Xfce, you have to run the command as:

adesklets --xfce4

Hopfully that should take care of things...

Offline

#3 2005-10-23 14:29:20

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: adesklets

should it be adesklets --xfce4 or adesklets --rox? i'm using xfce4 with metacity and rox.

Offline

#4 2005-10-23 14:45:19

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: adesklets

 man adesklets | grep xf  
       --xfce4
              Xfce4  desktop  detection (tested on Xfce4 4.2.x, with xfdesktop
       --xffm Xffm desktop window detection  (tested  on  xffm  4.3.3.1,  with
              xffm-deskview managing the icons)

Mr Green

Offline

#5 2005-10-23 15:00:50

Cam
Member
From: Brisbane, Aus
Registered: 2004-12-21
Posts: 658
Website

Re: adesklets

If ROX is drawing your desktop then you need to use the --rox option, if you have an xf* program handling your desktop and are only using ROX for the panel etc then use the appropriate option that Mr Green outlined above.

Just experiment, how long does it sit for? If none of the above works, rebuild the package with the --enable-debug flag and then run adesklets like so:

ADESKLETS_LOG=/tmp/adesklets/log adesklets
ADESKLETS_LOG=/tmp/adesklets/log python /usr/share/adesklets/yab.py

then post the resulting logs of both those smile It creates unique logname from the PID so don't need to change ADESKLETS_LOG between runs.

Offline

#6 2005-10-23 15:05:44

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: adesklets

Cam we are not worthy lol


Mr Green

Offline

#7 2005-10-24 00:49:28

Cam
Member
From: Brisbane, Aus
Registered: 2004-12-21
Posts: 658
Website

Re: adesklets

Mr Green wrote:

Cam we are not worthy lol

Pfffftt, too much time playing adesklets I think.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB