You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-02 20:36:18

Apple

Adding lines of users TODO to motd

Hello,
I've been trying to customise radu242's /etc/issue from the thread https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=50845&p=3 into a user specific motd by replacing the text in the box with some lines from the users TODO.txt.

At the moment I have a working, but not really, version that a) doesn't actually use the motd, but echo's the message from /etc/profile,  b) relies on the user keeping their TODO in a specific place, and c) has very ugly bash coding because I'm only learning.

So, in order to finish this, I need more info and was hoping someone could help:

For a)
    Is there any way to call variables directly from the /etc/motd file? - I tried $HOME but that didn't work as I expect it hasn't been initialised by then.

For b)
    I'd like to export a TODO variable before I call the message, which would have to be done very early so it's available in /etc/profile (or motd, if possible). Is there a way of adding an option into the /etc/passwd parsing? I doubt it but it would be awesome if there was, also I'd really appreciate a method of automatically updating (preferably with confirmation from the user) such an option.

For c)
    My TODO's have a specific format, the titles start at the beginning of a line and end with a  :  then the next line is the most important task in that title. In order to put these lines into my logo I need (unless anyone knows a better way) to make the titles and first line underneath into separate variables. I've done this with:

12 TODOfile="$HOME/TODO/MainTODO.txt"
 13 linenos=$( grep -n -P "^[A-Z].*:$" ${TODOfile} | sed 's/:.*//' )
 14 i=0
 16 for num in $linenos;
 17 do
 18     newline=$( sed -n "${num}p" ${TODOfile} )
 19     ret[${i}]="${newline}"
 20     i=$(( i+1 ))
 21     num=$(( num+1 ))
 22     newline=$( sed -n "${num}p" ${TODOfile} )
 23     ret[${i}]="${newline}"
 25     i=$(( i+1 ))
 25 done