You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-07 15:11:54

tiffany
Member
Registered: 2012-10-21
Posts: 4

OpenCL on Optimus

I have an Acer Aspire 5750G-6873 with Intel HD Graphics 3000 and an NVidia GT520M GPU and I can't get any GPUs to show up for use with OpenCL.

I have libcl and nvidia-opencl installed, and I have tried running the programs using primusrun and while the gpu is active and the driver loaded, to no avail.

The nvidia icd is installed to the right place and yet cgminer prints this:
[2013-04-07 11:11:12] Error -1001: clGetPlatformsIDs failed (no OpenCL SDK installed?)
[2013-04-07 11:11:12] clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable

Offline

#2 2013-04-09 20:40:34

johni
Member
Registered: 2012-02-03
Posts: 102

Re: OpenCL on Optimus

Do you have the nvidia driver installed?   I don't think it is in the opencl-nvidia package dependencies, but opencl won't run without the nvidia driver loaded.

Offline

#3 2013-04-09 21:11:01

tiffany
Member
Registered: 2012-10-21
Posts: 4

Re: OpenCL on Optimus

johni wrote:

Do you have the nvidia driver installed?   I don't think it is in the opencl-nvidia package dependencies, but opencl won't run without the nvidia driver loaded.

I have nvidia-ck-sandybridge 313.30-2 installed; and have also tried with the older nvidia-bumblebee package to no avail.  I've tried turning on the GPU using bbswitch and loading the dedicated gpu, but it still didn't work.

Offline

#4 2013-04-11 00:23:51

zezadas
Member
Registered: 2013-04-11
Posts: 33

Re: OpenCL on Optimus

same problem here, intel hd4000 with nvidia gt 630M

Offline

#5 2013-05-15 15:12:25

laurion
Member
Registered: 2011-05-12
Posts: 6

Re: OpenCL on Optimus

Similar issue in my desktop with nvidia card installed and on-board intel graphics.  Downgrading opencl-nvidia to the most recent 313 release as a workaround works for me.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB