You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-09 06:24:42

acgtyrant
Member
From: Hangzhou, China
Registered: 2013-04-09
Posts: 54
Website

[SOLVED]Can't startx

My video card is NVIDIA Corporation GT218 GeForce 405.

And the content of /var/log/Xorg.0.log is https://gist.github.com/anonymous/5343337

Forgive my poor English.

Last edited by acgtyrant (2013-04-09 11:04:27)


I am Chinese! I love Arch Linux!

Offline

#2 2013-04-09 06:58:45

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,430
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Can't startx

You are booting from the live disc?

Please post the details of your environment. Have you installed the appropriate drivers, and a desktop environment etc.

Offline

#3 2013-04-09 10:05:40

acgtyrant
Member
From: Hangzhou, China
Registered: 2013-04-09
Posts: 54
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Can't startx

I just installed archlinux following beginner'guide.

Everything is nice until trying video driver, it failed to execute startx.


I am Chinese! I love Arch Linux!

Offline

#4 2013-04-09 10:28:10

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,236
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Can't startx

Which video driver(s) have you installed?


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#5 2013-04-09 10:37:07

acgtyrant
Member
From: Hangzhou, China
Registered: 2013-04-09
Posts: 54
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Can't startx

I had tried nvidia and xf86-video-nv, they are no useful.

And it was nvidia when I copy /var/log/Xorg.0.log.

Last edited by acgtyrant (2013-04-09 10:37:51)


I am Chinese! I love Arch Linux!

Offline

#6 2013-04-09 10:43:10

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,430
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Can't startx

The log shows

Kernel command line: archisobasedir=arch archisolabel=ARCH_201304 initrd=boot/x86_64/archiso.img BOOT_IMAGE=boot/x86_64/vmlinuz

This means you haven't installed arch to the disk yet. Please try installing it to a disk first, then update the system, install the required packages and drivers and then try to startx.

Offline

#7 2013-04-09 11:00:10

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,236
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Can't startx

Ah, that's where you got that.  Yes, indeed, you need to boot your newly installed system, not the iso.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#8 2013-04-09 11:03:01

acgtyrant
Member
From: Hangzhou, China
Registered: 2013-04-09
Posts: 54
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Can't startx

@x33a I have installed arch to the disk already. Actually I boot into arch livecd firstly, then execute "arch-chroot /mnt" to control the arch system from disk.

I did this because I found I can connect to network only by this way, in other word, I can't connect to network when boot the arch system from disk firstly. I don't know why.

However, you are right. I boot arch system from disk firstly, then execute startx successfully! Thank you very much! o( ̄▽ ̄)d


I am Chinese! I love Arch Linux!

Offline

#9 2013-04-09 11:03:46

acgtyrant
Member
From: Hangzhou, China
Registered: 2013-04-09
Posts: 54
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Can't startx

@Trilby Yea, you are right. Thank you.


I am Chinese! I love Arch Linux!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB