You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-13 10:32:09

p4l4cl][n
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 43

[SOLVED] primusrun problem

Hi,
I manages to get bumblee working (optirun is running fine), but now I am trying to get primusrun to work and I am stuck.

out-of-the-box there is this problem:

$ primusrun glxinfo
primus: fatal: failed to load any of the libraries: /usr/lib/nvidia/libGL.so.1:/usr/lib32/nvidia/libGL.so.1
/usr/lib/nvidia/libGL.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
/usr/lib32/nvidia/libGL.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


if I add /usr/lib to librarypath in bumblebee.conf, error changes to:

primusrun glxinfo
name of display: :0.0
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Segmentation fault (core dumped)



and if I add /usr/lib/primus there is no error, only no output from primusrun or glxinfo and CPU is up to 100%

My GPU is GeForce 630M and I am using nvidia-304xx as driver.

Anyone has any idea what I shall do with this?

Last edited by p4l4cl][n (2013-04-14 11:08:49)

Offline

#2 2013-04-13 12:18:32

Cthulhu82
Member
From: Angers, France
Registered: 2013-04-01
Posts: 149

Re: [SOLVED] primusrun problem

Dumb question regarding your first output : have you the nouveau or the official nvidia driver installed ? As it seems that primus doesn't find your nvidia libraries where it should be.
I have the Nvidia driver on my computer and everything works fine (yes I know, knowing that it works fine for me doesn't help you a lot cool).


« En essayant continuellement, on finit par réussir.
Donc plus ça rate, plus ça a de chance de marcher. »
Devise Shadock

Offline

#3 2013-04-13 12:33:23

p4l4cl][n
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 43

Re: [SOLVED] primusrun problem

Thanks for reply smile As I mentioned near the end of my post, I am using nvidia-304xx driver, for some reason it has libGL.so.1 in /usr/lib instead of /usr/lib/nvidia where primusrun would expect it to be.

So to answer, I am using official nvidia driver..

Offline

#4 2013-04-13 12:39:06

Cthulhu82
Member
From: Angers, France
Registered: 2013-04-01
Posts: 149

Re: [SOLVED] primusrun problem

Sorry, I didn't see that last part.
Then what about the nvidia supplements ? I have myself this packages installed : lib32-nvidia-utils libvdpau nvidia nvidia-utils.
I use the last version of nvidia drivers, the 313.30.


« En essayant continuellement, on finit par réussir.
Donc plus ça rate, plus ça a de chance de marcher. »
Devise Shadock

Offline

#5 2013-04-13 12:45:29

p4l4cl][n
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 43

Re: [SOLVED] primusrun problem

I tried nvidia packages, but they are too new for my card, but I have installed all this packages in appropriate version: lib32-nvidia-304xx-utils libvdpau nvidia-304xx nvidia-304xx-utils

and optirun itself is in fact working (meaning drivers are working), so I don't understand what's wrong hmm

Offline

#6 2013-04-13 13:02:03

Cthulhu82
Member
From: Angers, France
Registered: 2013-04-01
Posts: 149

Re: [SOLVED] primusrun problem

Another dumb question, even if I think you already have look for it : are the /usr/lib/nvidia/libGL.so.1 and /usr/lib32/nvidia/libGL.so.1 where they're should be ?
Because there is also a libgl.so.1 in /usr/lib installed by the package mesa-libgl, and the one primus is looking for are from lib32-nvidia-utils and nvidia-utils.

In the librarypath in bumblebee.conf, try to add "/usr/lib/nvidia" instead of "/usr/lib".


« En essayant continuellement, on finit par réussir.
Donc plus ça rate, plus ça a de chance de marcher. »
Devise Shadock

Offline

#7 2013-04-13 13:21:01

p4l4cl][n
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 43

Re: [SOLVED] primusrun problem

well, nvidia-304xx-utils does not have /usr/lib/nvidia folder at all, that's one of the problems hmm

Offline

#8 2013-04-13 13:28:50

Cthulhu82
Member
From: Angers, France
Registered: 2013-04-01
Posts: 149

Re: [SOLVED] primusrun problem

Then have you try to link the libgl.so.1 into a "/usr/lib/nvidia" folder ?
By the way, what problems the nvidia 313.30 cause to your card ? For what I know, GT630M is supported by this version.


« En essayant continuellement, on finit par réussir.
Donc plus ça rate, plus ça a de chance de marcher. »
Devise Shadock

Offline

#9 2013-04-13 14:02:01

p4l4cl][n
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 43

Re: [SOLVED] primusrun problem

Ok, I'll try that smile

well, it seemed to me, that it just could not find the card, but I'll give it another try..

Offline

#10 2013-04-13 14:51:21

Jodell
Member
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 285

Re: [SOLVED] primusrun problem

Check your bumblebee config

Offline

#11 2013-04-13 15:54:26

p4l4cl][n
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 43

Re: [SOLVED] primusrun problem

@Jodell: check for what?

Offline

#12 2013-04-13 19:40:15

p4l4cl][n
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 43

Re: [SOLVED] primusrun problem

well ok, I switched to nvidia package and it's kinda working now, but not all apps. For example steam works with optirun and not with primusrun hmm weird

but games seem to be working

Offline

#13 2013-04-14 08:13:55

Cthulhu82
Member
From: Angers, France
Registered: 2013-04-01
Posts: 149

Re: [SOLVED] primusrun problem

Primus is still under development after all. On my machine, I have way better performances with optirun than with primus. Let's wait for future versions wink.
At least, I'm happy for you that it finaly works (somehow).


« En essayant continuellement, on finit par réussir.
Donc plus ça rate, plus ça a de chance de marcher. »
Devise Shadock

Offline

#14 2013-04-14 11:09:49

p4l4cl][n
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 43

Re: [SOLVED] primusrun problem

yep, we'll see smile anyway, thanks for your help, my conclusion is that primusrun just don't work with nvidia-304xx as upgradeto nvidia fix most of my problems smile

marking as solved

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB