You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-18 13:48:10

r_mosaic

After installing gnome packages, always black screen when startx

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to Arch Linux, also not quite experienced at bare-bones Linux installation. I installed Arch Linux by following the steps in the installation guide up to X. Then I installed X by referring to the wiki Beginner's Guide: pacman -S xorg-server xorg-server-utils xorg-xinit. Then I installed vmware video: pacman -S extra/xf86-video-vmware. Now I tested startx. It works fine, tmw fires up, xterm windows open and xclock displaying. I can also switch to other virtual consoles by pressing Ctrl+Alt+F1~F6 (on VMware, I do Ctrl+Alt+(Space,F1))

Then I did: pacman -S gnome. Because I didn't startx during the installation, and I didn't install dbus by that time, I got some warning message regarding dbus, "GConf-WARNING **: Client failed to connect to the D-BUS daemon:", but that was installing gnome-shell, gnome-terminal, etc., so I guess it doesn't affect gnome startup. However, after this installation, startx goes into a black screen and cannot switch to other virtual consoles by pressing Ctrl+Alt+Fn. And even if I remove all files from /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/ and /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d, leaving only the /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc (and no ~/.xinitrc), it still doesn't work. The /etc/xinit/xinitrc contains starting of twm, xterm and xclock near its end.

Could some experts shed some light on this?

Thanks a lot and best regards,

Robbie

#2 2013-04-18 15:19:09

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op

Re: After installing gnome packages, always black screen when startx

There is several knows issues with vmware and xorg 1.14. Check your logs for segfault in X and other relevant errors.

Evil #archlinux@libera.chat channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

#3 2013-04-18 17:05:15

Arogers10

after installing gnome try

systemctl start gdm.service