You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-21 00:40:34

chori
Member
From: Wisconsin, USA
Registered: 2008-09-02
Posts: 145

WRITE SAME errors on VMWare installation

I just installed the April 1, 2013 install distribution of Archlinux on a VMWare Workstation 9 virtual machine.

I now occasionally get these errors on the console:

sda3:  WRITE SAME failed. Manually zeroing.

.

The underlying disk on the host system is a Samsung 830 SSD.

Not sure what the cause of this is, or even what the exact problem is.  I've done some reading on "write same", but I'm not much more enlightened.  Is there some setting in VMWare or in the kernel I can configure to eliminate these errors?

Offline

#2 2013-05-12 02:59:27

skelente
Member
Registered: 2013-05-12
Posts: 2

Re: WRITE SAME errors on VMWare installation

Did you ever find a solution to this? I've experienced this same issue on two separate computers, trying VMWare and VirtualBox and I can't seem to find anything relevant to this.

Offline

#3 2013-05-15 12:55:18

Muninn
Member
Registered: 2013-05-12
Posts: 2

Re: WRITE SAME errors on VMWare installation

I have this error too.
And I install the Archlinux in a VMware workstation 9.
The virtual disk is vmx format.  One in SSD,the other one in HDD, both have this promblem.

Offline

#4 2013-05-15 13:39:43

alphaniner
Member
From: Ancapistan
Registered: 2010-07-12
Posts: 2,726

Re: WRITE SAME errors on VMWare installation

I'd suggest trying the LTS kernel.


But whether the Constitution really be one thing, or another, this much is certain - that it has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it. In either case, it is unfit to exist.
-Lysander Spooner

Offline

#5 2013-05-15 17:33:01

spykos
Member
Registered: 2010-04-15
Posts: 2

Re: WRITE SAME errors on VMWare installation

I also get this. Only solution so far is to use linux-lts kernel. Something changed in the kernel as with linux kernel 3.6.10 I wasn't getting this message.

Offline

#6 2013-05-23 01:41:06

skelente
Member
Registered: 2013-05-12
Posts: 2

Re: WRITE SAME errors on VMWare installation

Spykos, how'd you do this? I get this error before I even install Arch. It occurs when I try to mount /dev/sda1 to /mnt. Should I just dig up a copy of the arch iso from march?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB