You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-25 17:48:58

DeusInvictus

Laptop keeps powering down

I'm new to Arch (fairly experience with Linux in general but wouldn't consider myself an expert) I have recently installed it on an HP/Compaq nw8440 laptop.  I am having problems with the machine powering down.  Not just suddenly shutting off like I pulled the battery but randomly acting like I typed "shutdown -h now" as root.  I first saw this issue when trying to install Cinnarch and reinstalled Windows XP and ran the machine through a burn in (assuming overheating) with no problems. I thought maybe it was an issue with Cinnarch and installed Arch proper, The machine ran for hours from the command line with no issues but shortly after starting X11 (with TWM) it shutdown.  I have since noticed it shutdown when at the command line (but it seems to happen a lot more quickly when X11 is running) I installed the lm-sensors package and configured it.  The output of the sensors command gives me

acpitz-virtual-0
temp 1:
temp 2:
temp 3:
temp 4:
temp 5:

coretemp-isa-0000
adapter: isa adapter
core 0:
core 1