You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-26 12:16:07

ichase
Member
Registered: 2011-02-10
Posts: 113

{SOLVED} Unable to increase Screen Resolution with xrandr

Greetings all,
Have read in detail the xrandr Arch Wiki.  Have been trying to increase my screen resolution from the current 1366x768 using xrandr but keep running into the same road block.
For starters, this is a Dell Latitude E5510 Laptop with an i5 Core processor.  I know it's capable of easily handling increased screen resolution.
Wanted to give some out put to some commands that may be helpful.
xrander -q

# xrandr -q
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1366 x 768, maximum 8192 x 8192
eDP1 connected 1366x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 344mm x 194mm
   1366x768       60.0*+
   1024x768       60.0  
   800x600        60.3     56.2  
   640x480        59.9  
VGA1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

I then try to add the resolution but once I get to the --addmode to eDP1 it fails every time.

[root@arch64 ichase02]# gtf 1280 1024 60.00

  # 1280x1024 @ 60.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 63.60 kHz; pclk: 108.88 MHz
  Modeline "1280x1024_60.00"  108.88  1280 1360 1496 1712  1024 1025 1028 1060  -HSync +Vsync

[root@arch64 ichase02]# xrandr --newmode "1280x1024_60.00"  108.88  1280 1360 1496 1712  1024 1025 1028 1060  -HSync +Vsync
[root@arch64 ichase02]# xrandr --addmode eDP1 1280x1024_60.00
X Error of failed request:  BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
  Major opcode of failed request:  140 (RANDR)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  18 (RRAddOutputMode)
  Serial number of failed request:  33
  Current serial number in output stream:  34

I read the following thread that was much like my issue: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=114933  I have used Google, I have read the wiki (I give this disclaimer because I know someone is going to say it, if I don't.  smile   )
But what worked for him in the end:

xrandr --output eDP1 --scale 1.5x1.5

Only made my screen small with just a quater of it usable.  I have read where others are using a higher screen resolution on this same laptop.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.

All the best,

Ian

Last edited by ichase (2013-04-28 18:09:06)

Offline

#2 2013-04-26 12:27:14

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,466

Re: {SOLVED} Unable to increase Screen Resolution with xrandr

Are you *absolutely* sure the display is more than 1366x768? I don't see why this resolution would be offered if it isn't in fact your display's resolution. The only way to go higher is with scaling, but trust me, it's not usable. I played with it on my netbook (1024x600 display), it works like this:

xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 800x600 --scale-from 1024x768 --panning 1024x768

Online

#3 2013-04-26 12:40:57

ichase
Member
Registered: 2011-02-10
Posts: 113

Re: {SOLVED} Unable to increase Screen Resolution with xrandr

Gusar,  Thanks for the reply.  My CURRENT screen resolution is 1366x768.  Can I say with 100% certainty that the screen resolution can go higher than that, no.  I have read where others with the same laptop have used higher resolution but we all know you CAN'T believe everything you read on the InterWebs.  smile

Offline

#4 2013-04-28 15:19:55

ichase
Member
Registered: 2011-02-10
Posts: 113

Re: {SOLVED} Unable to increase Screen Resolution with xrandr

Any additional information I may be able to provide in order to solve this issue?

Offline

#5 2013-04-28 15:42:19

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,466

Re: {SOLVED} Unable to increase Screen Resolution with xrandr

Well, how can you not know what the resolution of the display is? And how do you expect we can know? Crystal ball?

Online

#6 2013-04-28 15:46:11

ichase
Member
Registered: 2011-02-10
Posts: 113

Re: {SOLVED} Unable to increase Screen Resolution with xrandr

I KNOW the resolution of the display, I have posted that on my first post.  The current resolution of the display is 1366x768.  From everything I read, this laptop is capable of higher resolution.  Just trying to figure out how to use xrandr or any other package to increase the resolution to 1280x1024.

Offline

#7 2013-04-28 16:06:01

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,466

Re: {SOLVED} Unable to increase Screen Resolution with xrandr

I KNOW the resolution of the display, I have posted that on my first post.

The first post says 1366x768. Also:

Can I say with 100% certainty that the screen resolution can go higher than that, no.

^^ I wouldn't call that knowing.

Anyway: http://www.dell.com/us/business/p/latit … d#TechSpec <- there are two variants, 1600x900 and 1366x768. And BTW, it took me 10 seconds to find that page.

Online

#8 2013-04-28 16:11:49

ichase
Member
Registered: 2011-02-10
Posts: 113

Re: {SOLVED} Unable to increase Screen Resolution with xrandr

Congratulations on your amazing search ability.  I must also have those super skills because I found THE SAME PAGE MYSELF days ago.  It would seem as if, the capability would alow to change the resolution.  Which is what I have been trying to find out.  It's not a show stopper, just wanted to add more info to my conky config and it won't fit on the screen.

Thanks for the help,

Offline

#9 2013-04-28 17:15:49

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,140

Re: {SOLVED} Unable to increase Screen Resolution with xrandr

ichase,
My sarcasm detector is on the blink and cannot tell if that link solved your issue or if you were indicating that the link was not pertinent.  If this is solved, please mark it so.  If not, what resolution does your laptop support.  It appears that the 1366x768  is standard and higher resolutions are available as upgrade options.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB