You are not logged in.

#1 2013-05-01 22:10:49

hotvic
Member
Registered: 2013-02-11
Posts: 108

[Solved] Aurora high CPU usage

I'm having some performance issues with firefox

for example load a simple page like bbs.archlinux.org (without any other page opened) make use of +/- 90% of my processor and i've noted also that page load freezing (like a slow performance of graphics card)

I have tried:
* enable HW Acceleratiaon (it's already enabled in Advanced->General->Use hardware acceleration when available)
* clean browser cache and cookies
* disable all extensions and themes, i haven't plugins

I'm using Aurora (latest) from heftig's repo, on x86_64 system.

My processor and G. card respectively:

AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3200+
Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV350 AP [Radeon 9600]

Last edited by hotvic (2013-05-06 16:21:31)

Offline

#2 2013-05-02 01:28:37

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: [Solved] Aurora high CPU usage

Do you get any performance issues with the release version of Firefox?

Or what about using Mozilla's Firefox tarball?

Offline

#3 2013-05-02 15:03:29

hotvic
Member
Registered: 2013-02-11
Posts: 108

Re: [Solved] Aurora high CPU usage

I'll install firefox from official repositories and test.

Edit:

tested firefox release from official repositories, CPU usage is a bit little but nothing satisfactory, apparently too high CPU occur while is rendering a web page.

Last edited by hotvic (2013-05-02 15:26:42)

Offline

#4 2013-05-03 13:16:41

hotvic
Member
Registered: 2013-02-11
Posts: 108

Re: [Solved] Aurora high CPU usage

I've installed elementaryOS (a ubuntu-based) and installed same version of aurora and this high CPU usage doesn't occur.

I've noted also that in some times chromium(in Arch) make usage of 100% of CPU also.

Important detail is that this occur on any page.

Ah, I'm forgetting that i've tested epiphany also, CPU usage is almost equals to chromium and firefox.

Offline

#5 2013-05-04 15:37:11

hotvic
Member
Registered: 2013-02-11
Posts: 108

Re: [Solved] Aurora high CPU usage

After some times monitoring system using htop, apparently it's a issue with X, in almost all applications that uses X i get high CPU usage, for example, simple play a mp3 in audacious make CPU usage of 50% (30-35% X, 10-15% audacious)

Then, someone can help me ?

Offline

#6 2013-05-06 16:20:45

hotvic
Member
Registered: 2013-02-11
Posts: 108

Re: [Solved] Aurora high CPU usage

Finally solved problem big_smile

What was I've done:
1. blacklist kernel module powernow_k8 (it was causing trouble saying that Cool'n'quiet isn't enabled)
2. using LightDM instead of SLiM (I think that it does nothing about performance)
3. compile and install 'cairo' without gl (--enable-gl)

Now system using ~35% when rendering page, when idle use ~5% only

Marking as Solved, thank you.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB