You are not logged in.

#1 2005-11-04 18:31:10

Dj_kourampies
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2005-11-02
Posts: 32
Website

Anyone with correctly configured via82xx on board sound?

I have two soundcards on my system, the onboard via8237 (cmedia9761A) and a creative sb128.
I dont want to use the soundblaster, but it must stay on the system, its useful for some windows programs (sadly i must dual boot), and it has a fan attached to it to cool the motherboard chipset tongue

Anyway, the soundblaster is detected as the first soundcard by alsa, and i suppose this makes the things more complex.

I tried to setup the via8237 chip, but i didnt have any luck, with the alsa or arch guides.
After combining some instructions from many google search results i managed to hear some sound, but it skips, only pcm volume controller works, and i dont think it works ok.

if someone has managed to get this thing correctly working i would appreciate any help.

please forgive my bad english tongue

Offline

#2 2005-11-04 19:03:26

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Anyone with correctly configured via82xx on board sound?

Normally you would disable it in the motherboard but I don't know if you can with a PCI type. IF you can't turn it off in the bios, try turning off plug and play. Arch is compiled with plug and play so it will assign system resources if the bios hadn't already (from turing of its PnP)

Offline

#3 2005-11-04 19:52:36

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: Anyone with correctly configured via82xx on board sound?

Me thinks you can change some of the alsaconf created stuff in modprobe.conf to force a different order of priority. It is possible to actually use two soundcards but tricky.

Offline

#4 2005-11-04 20:40:53

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Anyone with correctly configured via82xx on board sound?

This link is for VT8233, but it could probably help you. Try some of the suggestions for solving sound quality problems.

Offline

#5 2005-11-04 23:09:14

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: Anyone with correctly configured via82xx on board sound?

I just got a new board with via82xx, and I also have an SB Live! card.  My problem was that the SB wasn't being used, and the via82xx was. big_smile

I found out that alsa assigns the first driver loaded as the 'default playback device', so make sure you have snd_via82xx first in your rc.conf MODULES list. 

When I put snd_emu10k1 first, the SB started working again.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB