You are not logged in.

#1 2013-05-22 16:46:51

Jonnothin
Member
Registered: 2011-10-18
Posts: 16

pacstrap requires an internet connection to install Arch?

So the install for Arch has changed quite a bit since I last tried it out. It's definitely different. Anyway I'm having issues getting my wireless network running because you use

wifi_menu device_name

now. According to the beginner's install guide I have to use that and it should just work, but the live cd through out an error saying it doesn't exist.

EDIT: The device exists, but it says that wifi_menu doesn't. I checked the device with iwconfig

So I was wondering if there is a way to install arch without an internet connection or is there a way to connect to a wpa2 private wireless network from the arch live cd?

You could do this before, but it doesn't work now.

Last edited by Jonnothin (2013-05-22 16:48:23)

Offline

#2 2013-05-22 16:51:20

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: pacstrap requires an internet connection to install Arch?

Connect manually i.e. using wpa_supplicant and dhcpcd.

Offline

#3 2013-05-22 16:55:30

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,081

Re: pacstrap requires an internet connection to install Arch?

The problem is that netctl got forgotten in the May install disk. https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/35079

Simplest answer is to use an older install disk until the June image comes out. Click on a mirror for your country and you should be able to find an older image.

Offline

#4 2013-05-22 17:05:51

Jonnothin
Member
Registered: 2011-10-18
Posts: 16

Re: pacstrap requires an internet connection to install Arch?

lol they forgot it!?! lol

I tried to find instructions on connecting manually, but I can't find what I used before. I did find another page, but it's missing some of the commands. Do you happen to know the commands or know where I can find them all?

Offline

#5 2013-05-22 17:06:58

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: pacstrap requires an internet connection to install Arch?

Wiki's Wireless page has a Manual Setup section.

Offline

#6 2013-05-22 17:09:36

Jonnothin
Member
Registered: 2011-10-18
Posts: 16

Re: pacstrap requires an internet connection to install Arch?

So that's where I got the commands from before.

Don't know how I missed it this time.

Thanks everyone!

Offline

#7 2013-05-22 17:23:58

wingsuit
Member
Registered: 2013-05-18
Posts: 11

Re: pacstrap requires an internet connection to install Arch?

Scimmia wrote:

The problem is that netctl got forgotten in the May install disk. https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/35079

Simplest answer is to use an older install disk until the June image comes out. Click on a mirror for your country and you should be able to find an older image.

As a new user this really confused the shit out of me during my first install until I read that it was forgotten haha

Offline

#8 2013-05-22 19:42:56

teateawhy
Member
From: GER
Registered: 2012-03-05
Posts: 1,060
Website

Re: pacstrap requires an internet connection to install Arch?

Offline

#9 2013-05-22 19:50:52

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,025
Website

Re: pacstrap requires an internet connection to install Arch?

I don't interpret it as bing forgotten by accident, I take it as it being left out by divine intervention.  If one can't use the basic networking tools to connect, then they probably wont end up being happy without arch anyways.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#10 2013-05-22 20:34:38

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 5,699
Website

Re: pacstrap requires an internet connection to install Arch?

Trilby wrote:

I don't interpret it as bing forgotten by accident, I take it as it being left out by divine intervention.  If one can't use the basic networking tools to connect, then they probably wont end up being happy without arch anyways.

You do realize that such a statement comes off as elitist rationalization of an evident mistake, right? There's a difference between "Arch doesn't hold your hand" and "Arch pulls the carpet out from under you to check your balance".

Incidentally, I find it somewhat perplexing that a rolling-release distro has such a strict ISO release schedule that we have to wait up to a month to fix a mistake that will affect so many people. Isn't baking a new iso as simple as running a script? Given that such a mistake went undetected, the releases do not seem to be (more than superficially) tested, so what else is there to do? I'm not asking rhetorically, so please point me to relevant information if you have any.

Offline

#11 2013-05-22 20:47:08

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,025
Website

Re: pacstrap requires an internet connection to install Arch?

The isos never used to come with NetworkManager, wicd, or netcfg running automatically.  So I don't see how this is pulling a carpet out.  Someone has slipped a carpet in recently that happened not to be in the last iso.

And if hoping arch users will learn just a little bit about their system rather than jumping right into a magic bullet is elitist, then I am certainly guilty.  We could also start including yaourt in the isos, that'd be a nice soft carpet for new users.

Last edited by Trilby (2013-05-22 20:48:36)


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#12 2013-05-22 22:04:38

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 5,699
Website

Re: pacstrap requires an internet connection to install Arch?

Trilby wrote:

The isos never used to come with NetworkManager, wicd, or netcfg running automatically.  So I don't see how this is pulling a carpet out.  Someone has slipped a carpet in recently that happened not to be in the last iso.

And if hoping arch users will learn just a little bit about their system rather than jumping right into a magic bullet is elitist, then I am certainly guilty.  We could also start including yaourt in the isos, that'd be a nice soft carpet for new users.

The package is expected to be on the ISO if you are following the beginner's guide, so a sudden omission of that package for a month without notice is likely to trip up anyone following that guide, as this thread clearly shows. Feel free to argue that Arch users should be able to work around errors in the beginner's guide (I would mostly agree). It remains a mistake nevertheless. Also, who said anything about it running automatically?

Trying to pass off the mistake as a good thing because it provides some minor additional challenge to would-be users is indeed elitist imo.

The hyperbole in your reply was unnecessary.

Offline

#13 2013-05-23 08:21:32

t0m5k1
Member
From: overthere
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 307

Re: pacstrap requires an internet connection to install Arch?

Xyne wrote:

Trying to pass off the mistake as a good thing because it provides some minor additional challenge to would-be users is indeed elitist imo.

The hyperbole in your reply was unnecessary.

could not agree more Xyne & alas this attitude is all over the place sad


Optiplex 790, Intel Core i3-2100 CPU @ 3.10GHz 16Mb Corsair Vengeance 1333Mhz - GeForce 970 - AwesomeWM (occasionally XFCE, i3)

If everything in life was easy, we would learn nothing!
Linux User: 401820   Last FM

Offline

#14 2013-05-28 14:17:26

Jonnothin
Member
Registered: 2011-10-18
Posts: 16

Re: pacstrap requires an internet connection to install Arch?

Here's to hoping that elitists and noobies can coexist (peacefully). wink

EDIT: and everyone inbetween.

Last edited by Jonnothin (2013-05-28 14:17:53)

Offline

#15 2013-05-29 12:10:03

Spec-Chum
Member
Registered: 2013-05-28
Posts: 11

Re: pacstrap requires an internet connection to install Arch?

Confirmed that wifi-menu on tmxtga version https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=161347

Very nice and easy it is with the instructions on the same screen.

Should be default OMHO smile

Offline

#16 2013-06-01 01:02:21

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: pacstrap requires an internet connection to install Arch?

Actually, if you read Trilby's post carefully, it is far from elitist. It just posits an evil source of divine intervention.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB