You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-04 19:11:19

BrendenD15
Member
From: Missouri, United States
Registered: 2013-06-04
Posts: 5

[Solved] Trouble Installing a Desktop Environment

I am currently running an Arch install on a VirtualBox machine inside of Windows 8 and I have gotten to the point of installing a Desktop Environment. I had GNOME 3 running, but I moved the virtual machine's drive to my main HDD from my external one for a bit of a speed boost. In the process, my GNOME 3 install disappeared and I had to re install syslinux.
After I reconfigured syslinux and the user profile settings(which also disappeared), I tried to reinstall GNOME. Pacman downloaded all of the packages, but three were corrupted(or had an invalid signature) and so didn't install GNOME. I tried several more times, gave up, and then tried KDE. Same, exact problem as before, even the same packages with one of them now working. The packages are:  libxcb-1.9-3 and nettle-2.7-1.

Not sure if it means anything, but most of the download mirrors pacman tried returned a "404 page not found" error.

Thanks ahead of time for any help. It's really frustrating to need only 2MB of packages that won't download. sad

Last edited by BrendenD15 (2013-06-05 04:20:56)


HP Pavilion dv7-1448dx
Processor: Dual-core Turion X2 2.2Ghz Graphics: ATI Radeon 3200 HD w/ 256MB RAM Memory: 6GB Storage: 320GB WD Scorpio Blue SATA II
My Arch Install is: in a virtual machine with KDE running on Windows
My Other OSes: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit and Linux Mint 14 64-bit

Offline

#2 2013-06-04 19:13:19

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,356

Re: [Solved] Trouble Installing a Desktop Environment

Your system is out of date. Run pacman -Syu first.

Edit, make sure to read the front page news, though.

Last edited by Scimmia (2013-06-04 19:13:54)

Offline

#3 2013-06-04 19:14:09

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,433

Re: [Solved] Trouble Installing a Desktop Environment

Use an up to date mirrorlist and always update the whole system before installing new software.

Offline

#4 2013-06-04 19:17:59

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,826

Re: [Solved] Trouble Installing a Desktop Environment

Wow.  First, welcome to Arch. 

Okay, I cannot parse that first paragraph.  You moved a file containing a virtual disk from one volume to another, causing Gnome to be uninstalled, so you had to reinstall syslinux?  Um, I am dumbfounded.

Okay, part 2.  What are the error messages?  It also appears that you are attempting an evil, unsupported partial upgrade.  What is the specific command you issued?
I strongly suggest you try a pacman -Syu before you do anything more.

edit: That is what Scimmia,( who is very fast big_smile ) said up there ^^^

Last edited by ewaller (2013-06-04 19:19:40)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#5 2013-06-04 22:07:39

BrendenD15
Member
From: Missouri, United States
Registered: 2013-06-04
Posts: 5

Re: [Solved] Trouble Installing a Desktop Environment

Thanks for the fast responses. I think Scimmia's might have broken a record. wink

I'm working on the system update now. My ISP bottle-necked my internet so it'll take me a little while to try again before I post the results. As for the error messages you were talking about, ewaller; the first ones were all "404 page not found" like I stated earlier. However, the others all said something to the effect of:

"error: signature of <author's name> is invalid
package (package name) is invalid or corrupted
Do you want to delete package?[Y/n]"

and at the end:

error: packages corrupted
no packages installed or upgraded

And I also don't have the slightest idea why syslinux and GNOME got messed up. But, I did get everything else moved over okay.


HP Pavilion dv7-1448dx
Processor: Dual-core Turion X2 2.2Ghz Graphics: ATI Radeon 3200 HD w/ 256MB RAM Memory: 6GB Storage: 320GB WD Scorpio Blue SATA II
My Arch Install is: in a virtual machine with KDE running on Windows
My Other OSes: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit and Linux Mint 14 64-bit

Offline

#6 2013-06-04 23:39:34

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,356

Re: [Solved] Trouble Installing a Desktop Environment

BrendenD15, apparently there are some issues with Daniel Wallace's keys right now. I'm guessing that's the ones you're having trouble with?
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=164455

Offline

#7 2013-06-05 04:19:07

BrendenD15
Member
From: Missouri, United States
Registered: 2013-06-04
Posts: 5

Re: [Solved] Trouble Installing a Desktop Environment

I believe they were some of his. Good news though, I did the full system update and Arch worked like magic again. I got KDE installed and am working on setting up the VirtualBox guest additions so that I can readjust the resolution, effects, etc... All in all everything is working great now! Thanks everyone smile

Edit: I know that technically this thread could be included in the Desktop Environments and Window Managers section, but I figured that since most of the topics there assume that your DE is already set up but not acting right, that I would post it here. Since my DE wasn't even completely downloaded, I decided it might fit here better.

Last edited by BrendenD15 (2013-06-05 04:33:12)


HP Pavilion dv7-1448dx
Processor: Dual-core Turion X2 2.2Ghz Graphics: ATI Radeon 3200 HD w/ 256MB RAM Memory: 6GB Storage: 320GB WD Scorpio Blue SATA II
My Arch Install is: in a virtual machine with KDE running on Windows
My Other OSes: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit and Linux Mint 14 64-bit

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB