You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-04 22:00:44

wucherpfennig

Stuck on boot after enabling Intel VT-d in Bios

Hi

I'm quite new with arch (suse/ubuntu/fedora before) and very happy that a finally moved to this great distro.But right now I'm struggling with virtualbox or better with enabling Intel VT on my lenovo w530. The boot process gets stuck at checking the filesystem for errors and nothing else happens. Since I never encountered such a problem any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Last edited by wucherpfennig (2013-06-05 07:41:42)

#2 2013-06-04 22:04:53

WonderWoofy

Re: Stuck on boot after enabling Intel VT-d in Bios

I think you need to boot the virtual machine with the archiso as the cdrom/boot device.  Then mount the filesystem, and either chroot into it (arch-chroot makes this super convenient) or use journalctl's -D option to get information about what is actually going on.  The post you have made is just waaaaayyyy too sparse on details for anyone to actually help you here.

#3 2013-06-04 22:16:08

wucherpfennig

sorry for my sluggishly written post.

well I'm running arch on my w530 which is just working like a charm. Since I need Windows for my studies I wanted to install virtualbox on my machine. During the installation I thought I could enable the Intel Intel Virtualization Technology to run windows even smoother on my arch. But after I enabled  them in the bios, arch won't start anymore. It gets stuck at boot time around the point when checking for filesystem errors. Since there's no further output to drill down the problem the only way to start the laptop is to reset the vt option in the bios and restart the machine, which works perfect, as before...

As you see it's not about installing virtualbox but about squeeze more power out of my machine to optimize virtualbox's performance...

I hope this is a better description of my problem? ;-)

#4 2013-06-04 22:47:41

WonderWoofy