You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-07 13:01:33

4javier
Member
From: Italia
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 88

[Solved] Is there a typo in the last news? Answer:No.

The procedure to correctly update the filesystem package, propose this command to verify the presence of external packages which install inside the old binaries directories

$ pacman -Qqo /bin /sbin /usr/sbin | pacman -Qm -

but I think that the last dash make that pipe useless. Am I wrong?

Last edited by 4javier (2013-06-07 17:37:35)

Offline

#2 2013-06-07 13:15:50

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,430

Re: [Solved] Is there a typo in the last news? Answer:No.

Piping to 'pacman -Qm' means only foreign packages (ones that are not in the official repos) will be printed.

Last edited by karol (2013-06-07 13:38:05)

Offline

#3 2013-06-07 13:16:52

4javier
Member
From: Italia
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 88

Re: [Solved] Is there a typo in the last news? Answer:No.

Yes I know, in fact I'm talking about the last dash (   -   ) smile
I think this is wrong

$ pacman -Qqo /bin /sbin /usr/sbin | pacman -Qm -

and this should be right

$ pacman -Qqo /bin /sbin /usr/sbin | pacman -Qm

Last edited by 4javier (2013-06-07 13:17:49)

Offline

#4 2013-06-07 13:18:13

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,430

Re: [Solved] Is there a typo in the last news? Answer:No.

Sorry, pressed 'submit' instead of 'preview' ...


The dash is not useless - try without it - it will give you different (wrong) output. Why is it wrong is left as an exercise to the reader ;P

man pacman wrote:

if stdin is not from a terminal and a single dash (-) is passed as an argument, targets will be read from stdin.

Last edited by karol (2013-06-07 13:19:16)

Offline

#5 2013-06-07 13:25:01

4javier
Member
From: Italia
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 88

Re: [Solved] Is there a typo in the last news? Answer:No.

I don't want seems presumptious, but this what I obtain with your command

javier@Archbox ~ $ pacman -Qqo /bin /sbin /usr/sbin | pacman -Qm -
javier@Archbox ~ $ 

and this is what dash-less version return to me

pacman -Qqo /bin /sbin /usr/sbin | pacman -Qm
Gens-gs 7-1
acpitool 0.5.1-5
cairo-compmgr 2:0.3.1-3
cairo-dock-plug-ins-extras 3.2.0-1
cloog-ppl 0.15.10-2
dr14_tmeter 0.7.3-1
easytag-git 484.2d9cd3a-1
eclipse-pydev 2.6.0-1
esound 0.2.41-2
exaile 3.3.1-1
firefox-i18n 17.0.1-1
flvstreamer 2.1c1-2
fontconfig-lcd 2.8.0-1
furiusisomount 0.11.3.0-1
gajim-hg 14434-1
gimp-help-en 2.6.1-1
gimp-help-it 2.6.1-1
gimp-plugin-separate+ 0.5.7-2
gimp-resynth 1:20121004-1
gphotofs 0.4.0-1
gtksourceview 1.8.5-3
hsqldb-java 1:1.8.0.10-2
jdk 7-2
jre 7-2
libdbusmenu 0.6.1-1
libdbusmenu-gtk3 0.6.1-1
libfetch 2.33-3
libgdu 3.0.2-2
libgnomecups 0.2.3-9
libgnomeprint 2.18.8-3
libgraphite 2.3.1-2
mp3check 0.8.7-1
mx 1.4.6-1
notify-osd-customizable 0.9.35-1
obdevicemenu 1.7.0-1
packettracer 5.3.2-2
pdftk-bin 1.44-2
phctool-svn 9-2
php-pecl-cairo-svn 302820-1
python2-nbxmpp-hg 35-1
rarcrack 0.2-1
roxterm-git 20120121-1
simpleburn 1.6.5-1
tor-browser-en 2.3.25_8-1
trash-cli 0.12.9.14-1
ttf-ms-fonts 2.0-3
twf-unofficial 0.4-1
veetle 0.9.17-6
xarchiver 0.5.2-5
xf86-input-fpit 1.3.0-6
xf86-input-hyperpen 1.3.0-5
xf86-input-mutouch 1.2.1-6
xf86-input-penmount 1.4.1-3
xorg-res-utils 1.0.3-3
xvidcap 1.1.7-4
javier@Archbox ~ $ 

those are all packages installed from AUR. I think this last one is the expected behaviour.

Offline

#6 2013-06-07 13:25:02

alphaniner
Member
From: Ancapistan
Registered: 2010-07-12
Posts: 2,719

Re: [Solved] Is there a typo in the last news? Answer:No.

No, the dash is what makes it worthwhile. Without it, you'd just get the same output you get if you ran 'pacman -Qm' by itself.

For example, pretend the foreign package foo contained files in /bin.

$ pacman -Qqo /bin /sbin /usr/sbin
foo
filesystem
filesystem
filesystem
$ pacman -Qqo /bin /sbin /usr/sbin |pacman -Qm -
foo
$ pacman -Qm foo filesystem filesystem filesystem      #this is what the above command 'resolves to' (I think)
foo
$ pacman -Qqo /bin /sbin /usr/sbin |pacman -Qm
<all my foreign packages>
$ pacman -Qm
<all my foreign packages>



4javier wrote:

those are all packages installed from AUR. I think this last one is the expected behaviour.

That's the expected behaviour of pacman -Qm by itself: listing all foreign packages. The point of the compound command in the news is to list the foreign packages which contain files in /bin /sbin and /usr/sbin.

Last edited by alphaniner (2013-06-07 13:28:01)


But whether the Constitution really be one thing, or another, this much is certain - that it has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it. In either case, it is unfit to exist.
-Lysander Spooner

Online

#7 2013-06-07 13:27:48

4javier
Member
From: Italia
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 88

Re: [Solved] Is there a typo in the last news? Answer:No.

Yes you're right, effectively these are all the packages from AUR, not just the ones which install into the old directories. Sorry for my error. smile
I think this thread can be safely deleted if you think so.
Thanks to everybody.

Offline

#8 2013-06-07 13:36:49

alphaniner
Member
From: Ancapistan
Registered: 2010-07-12
Posts: 2,719

Re: [Solved] Is there a typo in the last news? Answer:No.

It's unlikely to be deleted. Just mark it [Solved]. Should probably also mention in OP that you were mistaken, so as not to mislead anyone. Or maybe you could mark the thread [Solved: No there isn't].


But whether the Constitution really be one thing, or another, this much is certain - that it has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it. In either case, it is unfit to exist.
-Lysander Spooner

Online

#9 2013-06-07 13:37:46

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,430

Re: [Solved] Is there a typo in the last news? Answer:No.

Just mark it solved.
You're not the first one to wonder about the dash: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 3#p1282803

Last edited by karol (2013-06-07 13:38:52)

Offline

#10 2013-06-07 17:38:24

4javier
Member
From: Italia
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 88

Re: [Solved] Is there a typo in the last news? Answer:No.

Done. Next time I'll search better inside the forum. smile

Offline

#11 2013-06-14 10:24:20

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,731

Re: [Solved] Is there a typo in the last news? Answer:No.

You might want to look at this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXhcPJK5cMc, posix http://www.unix.org/version3/pr.html and the pacman manual.


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#12 2013-06-16 19:04:58

hawkinstw
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 7

Re: [Solved] Is there a typo in the last news? Answer:No.

Firstly, I also thought there was a typo at the "paclist" step, but then I saw I had to manually replace <repo> with the configured repos on my system (I blame my low intelligence).
And I would like to also add that there should be a step 4 after the final updating the system:  mkinitcpio -p linux (or linux-lits or linux-ck).  I didn't do that and was stuck a little longer than I should have been.

Offline

#13 2013-06-17 12:16:30

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,731

Re: [Solved] Is there a typo in the last news? Answer:No.

hawkinstw wrote:

Firstly, I also thought there was a typo at the "paclist" step, but then I saw I had to manually replace <repo> with the configured repos on my system (I blame my low intelligence).
And I would like to also add that there should be a step 4 after the final updating the system:  mkinitcpio -p linux (or linux-lits or linux-ck).  I didn't do that and was stuck a little longer than I should have been.

Not relevant to the news item. You don't have to rebuild the initcpio due to this change.

Last edited by Mr.Elendig (2013-06-17 12:16:48)


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB