You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-16 02:06:42

train_wreck

following postfix wiki article, cannot connect to database 'postfix'

so i'm completely new to both postfix and mysql. I'm following the wiki postfix article to a tee, but have had several issues. First, on step 2 of mysql configuration, I entered these command exactly:

CREATE TABLE `domains` (
  `domain` varchar(50) NOT NULL default ,
  PRIMARY KEY  (`domain`),
  UNIQUE KEY `domain` (`domain`)
);

CREATE TABLE `forwardings` (
  `source` varchar(80) NOT NULL default ,
  `destination` text NOT NULL,
  PRIMARY KEY  (`source`)
);

CREATE TABLE `users` (
  `email` varchar(80) NOT NULL default ,
  `password` varchar(20) NOT NULL default ,
  `quota` varchar(20) NOT NULL default '20971520',
  `domain` varchar(255) NOT NULL default ,
  UNIQUE KEY `email` (`email`)
);

This gives me a syntax error. I tried adding '' (2 single quotes) after each "default" statement, and that made the commands work. But i'm not sure whether I should have done that or not.... ?

Then, I get to the step "Test Postfix" and of course it fails. System logs show this when I try to start postfix:

warning: connect to mysql server localhost: Access denied for user 'postfixuser'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

If i do a "mysql --user=postfixuser postfix" I get access denied. I followed every step in the article up to this point.

I'm not sure which config files might be helpful to post, so let me know which ones I should. Keep in mind I have never used postfix or mysql (apparently it's acually "mariadb"??)

EDIT: specifically, i've got 2 questions:

-in the 3 files for mysql_virtual_(domains, forwards, mailboxes), the user in the wiki is listed as "postfixuser". But at the beginning of the guide it says to check for the existence of user "postfix". So should the user in these 3 mysql files be "postfix" or "postfixuser"?