You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-24 18:54:31

Kongar

Problems with efibootmgr - noob question

Hello all.  Total noob trying my hand at arch.  I recognize there actually are stupid questions, and I hate making this post - but apparently I'm stupid because I'm stuck wink  May I ask some for some basic confirmations to make sure I'm not beating my head against the wall for nothing?

Situation: efibootmgr command at the end of the chroot section of the beginner's guide doesn't work.  I'm getting "efibootmgr no such file or directory found" error.  I've been googling and searching through these forums, and the common answer seems to be "make sure you're UEFI booted and not BIOS/legacy"  I'm pretty damn sure I am, but - well it's not working =\  /sys/firmware/efi exists when I boot off the DVD (made form the iso)  At first, it booted legacy off that DVD, and that folder didn't exist.  So I forced "UEFI only" in the bios, and that fixed that directory not existing.

Stupid question #1 - I can boot UEFI from a DVD, right?  ie I don't NEED a USB stick?  There's quite a few posts here suggesting you need a properly formatted USB stick.  But the DVD should work just fine, correct? 

I have an existing sdb MBT Win7 drive.  Installed a new drive, sda which will be the target installation drive for arch.  I want to boot sda, pick my OS from a bootloader, choices being arch or win 7 (dual boot - two drives).  Beginner's guide is slightly confusing with the language around "dual boot" but I think it's suggesting a GPT partition in my case for sda, and since I have a newer asus mobo which is UEFI - that's probably the route I should go.

Stupid questions #2
1) Does what I just typed make sense?  UEFI boot, GPT on sda?
2) This also means gummiboot should be my loader on sda right?
3) EFISTUB is just for loading arch and arch only on a GPT UEFI drive (not for my situation)?
4) Grub and syslinux are for MBT drives (not for my situation)?

Stupid questions #3 - partitioning