You are not logged in.

#1 2013-07-18 02:32:39

Geeny
Member
Registered: 2013-07-18
Posts: 2

[SOLVED] Installing SDL 1.2 for development

TL;DR How do I put SDL into my computer so I can compile programs that displays graphics?


Hey, I'm trying to install SDL for a graphical project I would like to do. I don't think pacman has what I was looking for, so I figured I could compile it for scratch (This is the first time I'm compiling someone else's program, by the way). So I get the tar and follow instructions to unpack it and compile SDL itself.

./configure seems to run fine, but when i do

make

I get this error after many other texts (that start with _REENTRANT and look similar to the beginning of the copied lines)

_REENTRANT -DXTHREADS -D_REENTRANT -DHAVE_LINUX_VERSION_H -Wall -c ./src/video/x11/SDL_x11dyn.c  -fPIC -DPIC -o build/.libs/SDL_x11dyn.o
./src/video/x11/SDL_x11sym.h:168:17: error: conflicting types for ‘_XData32’
 SDL_X11_SYM(int,_XData32,(Display *dpy,register long *data,unsigned len),(dpy,data,len),return)
                 ^
./src/video/x11/SDL_x11dyn.c:95:5: note: in definition of macro ‘SDL_X11_SYM’
  rc fn params { ret p##fn args ; }
     ^
In file included from ./src/video/x11/SDL_x11dyn.h:34:0,
                 from ./src/video/x11/SDL_x11dyn.c:26:
/usr/include/X11/Xlibint.h:595:12: note: previous declaration of ‘_XData32’ was here
 extern int _XData32(
            ^
make: *** [build/SDL_x11dyn.lo] Error 1

What does that even mean!? And how do I fix it?
Anything else I should check/forum etiquette I'm not following???? I'm new here, although I've been using Arch for a few months.

Last edited by Geeny (2013-07-18 23:04:35)

Offline

#2 2013-07-18 03:54:44

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,742

Re: [SOLVED] Installing SDL 1.2 for development

Geeny wrote:

previous declaration of ‘_XData32’ was here

Maybe libX11-1.5.99.901 has changed prototype of _XData32 bug helps to explain.

Offline

#3 2013-07-18 05:10:02

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 4,092

Re: [SOLVED] Installing SDL 1.2 for development

What's wrong with sdl 1.2.15 in the repo?


Evil #archlinux@libera.chat channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#4 2013-07-18 08:00:08

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,742

Re: [SOLVED] Installing SDL 1.2 for development

Arch's sdl should include xdata patch.

Edit: Arch bug filed.

Last edited by brebs (2013-07-18 10:08:35)

Offline

#5 2013-07-18 12:12:16

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 4,092

Re: [SOLVED] Installing SDL 1.2 for development

I ment, why is OP compiling SDL *by hand* instead of using the package in the repo or makepkg.


Evil #archlinux@libera.chat channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#6 2013-07-18 17:17:15

Geeny
Member
Registered: 2013-07-18
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] Installing SDL 1.2 for development

TL;DR I can compile SDL programs now, thank you.

Thank you for the help. I didn't use the SDL in the repositories because I didn't think it worked for making my own SDL programs. I tried compiling a program with the directions I found on the internet, but it did not work, saying something about a file not being found. I thought it was SDL not being installed, I couldn't find the "devel" version with pacman, so I figured I should compile SDL. I was wrong, and the exact same command works today (Obviously, my computer did this on purpose)... So, sorry about that, but the compiling error was an actual thing! (right?)

Thank you for the speedy help, again.

Also, am I the one that's supposed to mark this as solved or something? How do I do that???

Offline

#7 2013-07-18 19:01:17

shulamy
Member
From: israel
Registered: 2010-09-11
Posts: 454

Re: [SOLVED] Installing SDL 1.2 for development

you have "edit" button at the bottom of each post.

edit your openning post.

ezik

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB