You are not logged in.

#1 2013-07-20 10:50:35

Zzipo

How to design my system? Global system + VMs (Security/Flexibility)

Hello,

I have read about LUKS, but I don't know if it is too early to start considering it (maybe for the future).

I want to divide the HDD in the best possible way taking care of SECURITY - PERFORMANCE - FLEXIBILITY (probably all is impossible), but I am completely new to this.

I have experienced several problems combining grsec+virtualbox, so, I will need to change virtualbox with KVM (I have seen someone that make it works with grsec).

I don't know how to divide the workstation, I can differenciate four different tasks that I want to perform:

a) Free time: Reading emails (thunderbird) + surfing the Web + torrent + pdfs + latex + libreoffice + emacs
   [Used everyday and 100% of the time]

b) Design: Gimp + Inkscape
   [Used 1 of 15 days, but when used, for hours/days]

c) Developing: Java, PHP, Databases, CSS,... so, Apache, MySQl, Eclipse, Emacs
   [Used everyday and 50-100% of the time]

d) Windows: specific apps and testing.
   [Used 1 of 7 days, but when used, for hours]

So far, I am used to use archlinux with KDE + virtualbox with WindowsXP, and it is easy, but KDE is heavy and virtualbox doesn't work with grsec properly. I have discovered recently vagrant, and I don't know what would be the best approach.
I use emacs as my normal text editor for everything, and if I am going to divide in four different environments, maybe I will need to have a clone copy of emacs config in every env.

Global
---ArchLinux + grsec Kernel + iptables firewall + tomoyo
---Slim + awesome/xmonad
---KVM (shared folders for the different virtualmachines to connect globally to share resources if needed)
---Apps: thunderbird, firefox, torrents, okular (or others without KDE), latex, libreoffice, emacs?