You are not logged in.

#1 2013-07-22 14:47:07

Neoreon

Have to use "xrdb -merge ~/.Xresources". Why?

Hi, im really new to Arch and im liking it alot.
But some things are a bit weird.

I am using i3 as my wm and urxvt as my terminal.
I have some thing set in my .Xdefaults, such as transparency and colors.
Yesterday I could easy do a change there, save, open a new urxvt window and see the chages.
Today i cant do that anymore. The only thing that forces urxvt to take my chages is "xrdb -merge ~/.Xresources"
I mean... i DOES work, but i would like to understand my system and know why it is required now and wasnt yesterday. hmm

i dont know if it relevant but this is my .Xdefaults file

URxvt.clipboard.autocopy:true
URxvt*loginShell:false
URxvt*transparent:true
URxvt*shading:25
URxvt*background:Black
URxvt*foreground:White
URxvt*scrollBar:false
URxvt*scrollBar_right:true
URxvt*scrollBar_floating:false
URxvt*scrollstyle:plain
URxvt*secondaryScroll:true

# how many lines you want it to save per session
URxvt*saveLines:32767
URxvt*troughColor:#000000
URxvt*scrollColor:#222222
URxvt*font: xft:Dejavu Sans Mono:pixelsize=11
#URxvt*letterSpace: -4

# with this set to true, when an app sends a bell to the
terminal, awesome hilights the appropriate tag(s) ;)
URxvt*urgentOnBell: true

#for weechat alt-key characters
UXTerm*metaSendsEscape: true

#for copypaste, done with urxvt-perls-git
URxvt.perl-ext-common: ...,clipboard
URxvt.keysym.M-c:   perl:clipboard:copy
URxvt.keysym.M-v:   perl:clipboard:paste
URxvt.keysym.M-C-v: perl:clipboard:paste_escaped

# these three lines enable clicking on links to open them ;)
## if you want to enable tab support, append ,tabbed to the next line
## then use shift+down arrow to create tabs and shift+{left,right} arrows to switch between them
URxvt*perl-ext-common:
default,matcher,-option-popup,-selection-popup,-realine
URxvt*matcher.button: 1

# dont forget to change this to your favorite browser
URxvt*urlLauncher: chromium

PS: is