You are not logged in.

#1 2013-07-23 20:41:03

mattresses
Member
Registered: 2013-07-23
Posts: 2

OPL3 FM Synth not working?

Hi, I've been struggling this for a few weeks, but I'm really not getting anywhere with it.

I've recently installed a YMF724-chip PCI soundcard, this card has an OPL3 chip that I think should be turning up as a MIDI device, but "aconnect -o" only shows:

client 14: 'Midi Through' [type=kernel]
    0 'Midi Through Port-0'
client 16: 'Yamaha DS-1 (YMF724F)' [type=kernel]
    0 'Yamaha DS-1 (YMF724F) MIDI'

I'm not certain, but I believe the device at 16:0 is the MIDI port at the back of the card, attempting "aplaymidi -p 16:0 example.mid" results in an I/O error.

The modules 'snd-ymfpci' and 'snd-opl3-lib' are loaded automatically, but 'snd-opl3-synth' (which I think is responsible for the "OPL3 FM Synth" MIDI device?) doesn't. Loading it manually doesn't seem to change anything.

Additionally (this is probably unrelated), I've noticed that recording over the card's line-in port doesn't seem to work. Audio connected to line-in is played through the system output and can't be recorded.

If anyone can help me out, I'd really appreciate it!

Thanks.

Offline

#2 2013-07-27 11:50:30

mattresses
Member
Registered: 2013-07-23
Posts: 2

Re: OPL3 FM Synth not working?

Just giving this a bump. Haven't made any progress with this, I tested recording a bit more thoroughly (setting different channels to "capture" in alsamixer) but haven't had any results.

I thought I'd mention as well, I'm loading ymfpci with the options "mpu_401=0x330 fm_port=0x388". Setting the MPU port resulted in the "Yamaha DS-1" device turning up as a midi device, setting "fm_port" should have done the same for the OPL3 MIDI device, but it didn't. The alsa-info script confirms the fm port when the fm device is set within the appropriate range (0x388 - 0x3A8 or something) but setting it beyond this range causes fm_port to report "0".

Offline

#3 2014-01-17 17:48:40

Potomac
Member
Registered: 2011-12-25
Posts: 519

Re: OPL3 FM Synth not working?

I have the same problem, I am unable to read midi files,

I have a "guillemot maxisound fortissimo" who uses a yamaha ymf744b sound chip,

in /etc/modeprobe.d/alsa-base.conf I have :

options snd_ymfpci index=0 mpu_port=0x330 fm_port=0x388

with "aplaymidi -l" I get this :

Port    Client name                      Port name
14:0    Midi Through                     Midi Through Port-0
16:0    Yamaha DS-1S (YMF744)            Yamaha DS-1S (YMF744) MIDI
17:0    OPL3 FM synth                    OPL3 FM Port

but I can't read a midi file, I get no sound

I notice also that I can't record with the "line in input" and the "microphone input", I get a silent wav file when I use "arecord" and "audacity"

Last edited by Potomac (2014-01-17 17:49:37)

Offline

#4 2014-01-17 17:56:01

Potomac
Member
Registered: 2011-12-25
Posts: 519

Re: OPL3 FM Synth not working?

I found the solution :

before playing a file I must do a :

sbiload std.o3 drums.o3

then I can read a midi file with aplaymidi,

I hope it will help mattresses

Last edited by Potomac (2014-01-17 18:04:00)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB